Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was my first attempt at making an Irish stew. I used 2 bottles of Killian's Red beer (I like the beer flavor not stout/bitterness); added a "little" extra beef broth; 1 packet of raw sugar and reduced tomato paste to only 4 oz. I added 2 chopped parsnips after 45 minutes. of simmering then simmered for another 35-40 minutes. My husband was dying to try it because the smell was permeating the whole house. He LOVED it! It was really tasty and robust with flavor. *If you use a full-bodied Irish beer like Guinness, I would use only 1 bottle. I would absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The stew had a good flavor. I added 2 cans of beef broth and left out the cornstarch because it didn't need it. It did however need a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Since we always have large quantities of venison on hand I used the tenderloins in this recipe. Found it took a little more flour than called for to coat the meat cubes and that I did not need the cornstarch and water at the end. Overall, absolutely perfect! Made a batch of Diane's Colcannon and placed a small mound in the bottom of individual large shallow bowls, then ladled this stew around the Colcannon. Very Irish and it made for a delicious and traditional St. Patrick's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Good stew and easy to make. You may want to add some salt and pepper. I also added two Bay Leaves. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Great stew! I left out the mushrooms to save on cash and scaled down the potatoes since I paired this with Diane's Colcannon (also from this site) for the perfect Irish St. Patty's Day dinner. Didn't even need the cornstarch; it thickened nicely on its own. Will definitely make again -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this without the beer, so I could serve it to my children. Instead I sub'ed beef broth and a beef bullion cube. Overall, an excellent stew. Next time, I will add a bay leaf or two. My only real complaint... the directions don't tell you when to use the garlic! I assume you saute it with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I added celery and less carrots. Also extra beef broth and I served it over noodles. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I didn't have Irish beer so used reg. beer, forgot the garlic, had to sub tomatoe sauce for the paste, and chicken broth for the beer. I also added 16 oz of peas. In spite of the changes-stew was delicious. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was delicious! After I browned the meat I put everything in the crockpot and cooked it on low for 4 hours. Then I added the corn starch solution and cooked another hour on low in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Next time I'll use less carrots and saute them a little with the mushrooms and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States