Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Tried this recipe for St. Pat's dinner. I followed recipe, except I simmered it about 1-1/2 hours so I did not have to add anything to make gravy thicker. Although beer was a little pricey, it was worth using. I will definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I made this for a big St. Patrick's day party and everyone loved it. I was a little apprehensive putting that much tomato paste in it. When I first introduced it and tasted the result, it was overpowering tomato. However, after letting it stew for a few hours the flavours blended and it was great. I'll definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I used Killian's Irish Red beer in this recipe and it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
very good... my whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
When I first tasted the broth, before adding vegeables and simmering, it was AWFUL! Almost through it out! But the outcome was OUTSTANDING! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I made this for a Realtor luncheon last year and got rave reviews from everyone that tried it. I'm making it again this year for another Realtor luncheon because it's sooo good! Realtors will only come to these things for the food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is the second year I have used this recipe. It is the best Irish Stew we have ever eaten. My family loves it, and I have passed it on to many friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I scaled this recipe for 12 and put it into a roaster in the oven at 325 for 2 hours and warmed it up the following day for another hour. It did not need cornstarch for thickening as it thickened on its own. I reduced the carrots to 4C, reduced the tomato paste to 1 1/2 cans, and increased the beef by a pound. I added a few more potatoes and a small spoonful of brown sugar. My family raved about it. It was a very pretty dish and exceptional in flavor. The beef was extremely tender. I am sharing it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was a hit in my house. I did add a spoon of sugar to take away some bitterness. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I added a pinch of basil, thyme and some pepper to it - YUMMY. My husband who doesn' t like beer stew thought it was great. Very hearty and flavourful and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States