Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Ok, I used Guinness Extra Stout, and this stew was great! Can't say that I followed the recipe exactly. I took other reviewers' suggestions and reduced tomato paste to 3-4 oz,omitted mushrooms, added some exttra spices (don't remember which, sorry:))). It was pleasantly thick without adding cornstratch, so didn't add. Also it took me smth about 1 h 40 min to cook until beef become tender (on the stovetop), so I added potatoes and carrots later then recipe called for (I guess stew could be a mess otherwise)... But the finel result... OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
As others have stated, this is a REALLY tomato-y stew recipe. I countered it by adding a second can of beef broth. I used 2 lbs. of meat, a little less carrots and a little more potatoes than called for. Also a touch of oregano and basil. And it definitely needs salt and and pepper. My husband loved it and this will be our keeper stew recipe as I've been looking for a good basic one for quite some time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Easy and tasty. I was afraid of the dark beer being used and thought it might give it a bad flavor. But I let it simmer for a long time and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This had an aftertaste none cared for. Maybe was the nasty beer we used or one of the other ingredients. Would try it one more time with a better beer. Tony jazzed it up with gravy. That really improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This stew is great, even cheaper cuts of beef become succulent and tender. It's a tiny bit bitter to my tastes so I serve it with sweet petit pois or sweetcorn to balance the flavours. It's my boyfriend's favourite stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Followed the directions exactly and loved it. Turned out perfect - this is our new St. Patrick's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I am a beginner chef but I made this for my family and they LOVED it! The beer really makes this recipe great, but like the others I did add about a tablespoon of brown sugar to balance out the beer, and after simmering for an hour I added a fourth cup of milk and it turned out wonderful. I only put in one carrot though, as my family is not too big on carrots. You really have to double the amount of meat though, one pound is not enough! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I loved this Recipe!!! and so did my friends and family I cooked it and instead of the recomended beer i used hiniken it turned out pretty good very thick. the only thing is next time i make it if i use the same beer i will use a little bit of suger like every one else suggests other then that it was awsome thank you for it and keep em coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I have used this recipe cooking for a retirement home of 200 and this was loved by all....and we all know how difficult it is to please elderly folk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STOLLIES1

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Essendon, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Quite possibly the best beef stew I've ever made and/or eaten. I did utilize the corned beef I had prepared and frozen a couple of weeks back and chose to throw Harp Lager in instead of a stout because really, I just can't stand Guinness or the like. With a Harp in one and and a heavily buttered piece of bread in the other, this stuff can't be beat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States