Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Ok, I used Guinness Extra Stout, and this stew was great! Can't say that I followed the recipe exactly. I took other reviewers' suggestions and reduced tomato paste to 3-4 oz,omitted mushrooms, added some exttra spices (don't remember which, sorry:))). It was pleasantly thick without adding cornstratch, so didn't add. Also it took me smth about 1 h 40 min to cook until beef become tender (on the stovetop), so I added potatoes and carrots later then recipe called for (I guess stew could be a mess otherwise)... But the finel result... OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
As others have stated, this is a REALLY tomato-y stew recipe. I countered it by adding a second can of beef broth. I used 2 lbs. of meat, a little less carrots and a little more potatoes than called for. Also a touch of oregano and basil. And it definitely needs salt and and pepper. My husband loved it and this will be our keeper stew recipe as I've been looking for a good basic one for quite some time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Easy and tasty. I was afraid of the dark beer being used and thought it might give it a bad flavor. But I let it simmer for a long time and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This had an aftertaste none cared for. Maybe was the nasty beer we used or one of the other ingredients. Would try it one more time with a better beer. Tony jazzed it up with gravy. That really improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This stew is great, even cheaper cuts of beef become succulent and tender. It's a tiny bit bitter to my tastes so I serve it with sweet petit pois or sweetcorn to balance the flavours. It's my boyfriend's favourite stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Followed the directions exactly and loved it. Turned out perfect - this is our new St. Patrick's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I am a beginner chef but I made this for my family and they LOVED it! The beer really makes this recipe great, but like the others I did add about a tablespoon of brown sugar to balance out the beer, and after simmering for an hour I added a fourth cup of milk and it turned out wonderful. I only put in one carrot though, as my family is not too big on carrots. You really have to double the amount of meat though, one pound is not enough! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I loved this Recipe!!! and so did my friends and family I cooked it and instead of the recomended beer i used hiniken it turned out pretty good very thick. the only thing is next time i make it if i use the same beer i will use a little bit of suger like every one else suggests other then that it was awsome thank you for it and keep em coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I have used this recipe cooking for a retirement home of 200 and this was loved by all....and we all know how difficult it is to please elderly folk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STOLLIES1

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Essendon, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Quite possibly the best beef stew I've ever made and/or eaten. I did utilize the corned beef I had prepared and frozen a couple of weeks back and chose to throw Harp Lager in instead of a stout because really, I just can't stand Guinness or the like. With a Harp in one and and a heavily buttered piece of bread in the other, this stuff can't be beat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States