Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this stew because I had a lot of veggies to use up from holiday cooking. I just used a random dark beer I had in the house. Also, I added celery with the carrots and potatoes. I will echo what others said about the need to simmer longer than an hour. At an hour, the stew was edible, but the meat was still pretty tough and the potatoes were not cooked through. It was much better after 2 hours. I omitted the cornstarch-it seemed thick enough to me. All in all, I really enjoyed the flavor and heartiness of this stew, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
By the instructions of other reviewers, I added Basil, Thyme, and a Bayleaf, and also put salt and pepper on my beef. I also added turnips and parsnips to my stew at the same time as my carrots because I love me some root vegetables. As per my Irish father-in-law, I marinated the beef in Guinness extra stout for a little less than an hour before draining the beer and coating them in flour, and then when the recipe called for stout, I used Guinness draught. I found that it was still too Guinness-y for my family's tastes, even after the addition of brown sugar, so maybe next time I will stick to my father-in-law's method of making Guinness stew. The stew also took probably a half hour longer to cook than the recipe stated it would. I served it with "Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet" here on Allrecipes. After we ate, I baked the remaining stew in a low, low oven overnight, to to soften up the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupnosaucer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This dish was delicious, very hearty for a good German winter's meal! Next time I will probably cut the Guinness from 12 oz to about 6, as it overpowered some of the other flavors. I also added cracked black pepper to taste at the end. Overall, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
One of the best stews I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
We really enjoyed this. We traveled to Ireland 2 years ago & ate this stew in a pub. This tasted just like I remembered it. I basicly followed the recipe. I only left out the cornstarch & added thyme, seasoning salt, & bayleafs. Next time Im going to leave out the Potatoes in the stew & serve it over mashed potatoes. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was a very hearty stew. I don't have a crock pot, but I left it simmering on the stove for about 3 hours and everything was so tender by the time we sat down to eat it. I made the mistake of using the Guiness Extra Stout so I added about 2 Tbsp of brown sugar and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I didn't have time to brown the beef so I just put it in a crock pot and tossed with flour, salt, and pepper. I used Killians Red Beer which isn't as strong. I added all the remaining ingredients and cooked on high for 4 hours. It turned out really tasty and was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLIECOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Loved this stew. This came out as good as I hoped for ( restaurant quality ). I did tweak the quantities a bit, but stayed pretty close to the recipe. I Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMTRUE
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
If you want some hearty country cookin', this is it. I've made a few times and these are my changes after reading reviews. I added salt and pepper to to the flour that coated the beef. Cut the amount of carrots in half, otherwise, you are eating carrot stew. I did use the Extra Stout Guinness, even though some people complained about it. I had no issues with it (but I am a Guinness drinker). I did add a wee bit of sugar, probably a tsp. or two. I also doubled the broth because I found it too thick otherwise, and who wouldn't want to stretch a good thing? Because I doubled the broth, I also doubled the cornstarch/water mix at the end for thickening. I also added these spices: salt, basil, rosemary & thyme. Warning -- its kind of addictive. POSTSCRIPT: After I made this the last time, my boyfriend added some Hatch roasted green chiles and that was a nice addition if you are craving some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
very bland and bitter needed salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Murray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States