Special Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This cake was fast and easy to make and tasted great. It had a deep, rich chocolaty flavor. Moist and delicious! I used a buttercream icing to frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This is really great cake.I made it for my husbands birthday and everyone reved about it. I added cocoa to the frosting and it was really, really nice. I will be making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
i made it with cinnamon nut coffee and baked it at 325 to make sure it baked through. it was perfect and moist and delicious. a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this cake on new years eve, and then, it was DEE-LISH-USS!!! But then I made it a second time, it was a bit dry and you could actually TASTE the coffee, which you're not supposed to. So when me and my mom made it a 3rd time, we changed it up a bit, we use 1 full cup of oil instead of 1/2, and added a bit more vanilla, and it was... THE BEST CAKE EVER! A keeper fo sho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I don't care for chocolate cake, as a rule. But this one is the most delicious and moist chocolate cake I've ever had. It was the most often requested by my children as they were growing up. First rate in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDILEW
Home Town: Lake Como, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Excellent cake! It was very moist and light. I used my own frosting recipe, but the cake is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My review is for the cake only, which is moist and delicious with a deep chocolate flavor. Light and fluffy with a coarse, open crumb - I'm almost inclined to say too light and fluffy and bordering squishy. Tastes great, but it could be a little sturdier. I made this as cupcakes, and because they were so soft and spongy they were a bit of a challenge to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I used hot chocolate instead of coffee and it turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
The cake was easy to make. Very good cake moist. I would make the cake again. The frosting no way. Do not know what I did to the frosting followed the directions to the letter and it turned out runny not fluffy thats for sure will not make frosting again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Hansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States