Special Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My review is for the cake only, which is moist and delicious with a deep chocolate flavor. Light and fluffy with a coarse, open crumb - I'm almost inclined to say too light and fluffy and bordering squishy. Tastes great, but it could be a little sturdier. I made this as cupcakes, and because they were so soft and spongy they were a bit of a challenge to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this cake on new years eve, and then, it was DEE-LISH-USS!!! But then I made it a second time, it was a bit dry and you could actually TASTE the coffee, which you're not supposed to. So when me and my mom made it a 3rd time, we changed it up a bit, we use 1 full cup of oil instead of 1/2, and added a bit more vanilla, and it was... THE BEST CAKE EVER! A keeper fo sho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
i made it with cinnamon nut coffee and baked it at 325 to make sure it baked through. it was perfect and moist and delicious. a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I used hot chocolate instead of coffee and it turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This cake was fast and easy to make and tasted great. It had a deep, rich chocolaty flavor. Moist and delicious! I used a buttercream icing to frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
It doesn't fit in ONE 9" x 13" pan like the recipe says, mine ended up looking like a gigantic cupcake! Also,to me it tasted like a normal chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This is really great cake.I made it for my husbands birthday and everyone reved about it. I added cocoa to the frosting and it was really, really nice. I will be making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Excellent cake! It was very moist and light. I used my own frosting recipe, but the cake is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was looking for a yummy moist chocolate cake and couldn't remember the last recipe I used. This looked very similar so I gave it a try. The cake itself was okay, but the frosting was an epic failure. The texture was perfect, but I didn't care for the taste. I was able to salvage it by adding 2 more cups of powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons of milk, but it still was not ideal. Next time I would definitely stick to a true buttercream and stay away from the paste:( I'm giving this two stars because to me, the frosting is 75% of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States