Special Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This is really great cake.I made it for my husbands birthday and everyone reved about it. I added cocoa to the frosting and it was really, really nice. I will be making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
It doesn't fit in ONE 9" x 13" pan like the recipe says, mine ended up looking like a gigantic cupcake! Also,to me it tasted like a normal chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
i made it with cinnamon nut coffee and baked it at 325 to make sure it baked through. it was perfect and moist and delicious. a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I used hot chocolate instead of coffee and it turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this cake on new years eve, and then, it was DEE-LISH-USS!!! But then I made it a second time, it was a bit dry and you could actually TASTE the coffee, which you're not supposed to. So when me and my mom made it a 3rd time, we changed it up a bit, we use 1 full cup of oil instead of 1/2, and added a bit more vanilla, and it was... THE BEST CAKE EVER! A keeper fo sho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
The cake was easy to make. Very good cake moist. I would make the cake again. The frosting no way. Do not know what I did to the frosting followed the directions to the letter and it turned out runny not fluffy thats for sure will not make frosting again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I don't care for chocolate cake, as a rule. But this one is the most delicious and moist chocolate cake I've ever had. It was the most often requested by my children as they were growing up. First rate in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDILEW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was looking for a yummy moist chocolate cake and couldn't remember the last recipe I used. This looked very similar so I gave it a try. The cake itself was okay, but the frosting was an epic failure. The texture was perfect, but I didn't care for the taste. I was able to salvage it by adding 2 more cups of powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons of milk, but it still was not ideal. Next time I would definitely stick to a true buttercream and stay away from the paste:( I'm giving this two stars because to me, the frosting is 75% of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Excellent cake! It was very moist and light. I used my own frosting recipe, but the cake is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States