Special Cereal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
My 12 yr old daughter and I loved it!! Made it for the first it time 2/4/13. I substituted Post's Great Grains Cereal (Raisin/Dates) and followed everything else to the letter. Added it to my bread machine and set it to be finished by 7am. Excellent. I'm making another loaf tonite. She eats it with just butter, I love it toasted. Very healthy and highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Wonderful bread! I used Kashi Go Lean and added 1/4 cup more water. The bread was too dense with only 1 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe & easy way to use up any cereal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I would love to try some of these bread recipes but not all of us have a bread machine. There is something wonderful about kneading bread by hand and have chosen not to have a bread machine. So guess that's my loss or gain. Is there an easy translation to make this and others by hand? My non-rating is not a bad rating but couldn't try the bread so can't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
There are several tricks for making high grain breads more moist. One is to add the extra gluten. The other is to add to the dough at any time, 1 tsp. of INSTANT clear gel for each cup of liquid in the recipe. You will be AMAZED at what it does in breads as well as cowpie cookies. Trust me on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good! A tad dry here--I added 1/2 cup of water and it worked fine. However, I did add about a 1/4 c of vital wheat gluten to this, so that could've tipped it over into dry territory. I just did the dough in the bread machine and when I took it out it looked to be too much for my loaf pans (I use smaller ones than most people, I think), so I broke off about 1/4 and made 7 small rolls to go with dinner. Bf liked these a lot--he said they were good, which for a ww recipe, that's high praise indeed for him. Nice and soft, and a tad chewy. I baked the rolls for 15 mins at 375 and the bread for 40 mins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Really tasty, chewy, DENSE bread. My husband loved it, but we both agreed it really wouldn't work as sandwich bread. It has more of a chewy biscuit consistency. I used leftover Raisin Bran instead of the high protein cereal, and we ate the bread toasted with cream cheese for breakfast. As long as you know what you're getting from this recipe, it's delicious, but don't count on a fluffy, airy sandwich loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this with Kashi's Go Lean Crunch cereal. It is soooo gooood! We'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made this with Total cereal and LOVED it! My husband and kids all agreed. I made the dough in the bread maker and baked it in the oven - just because I think the loaves come out nicer. This is likely to become my #1 bread recipe. All pantry items, super healthy, and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This bread is delicious and I will definitely make it again. I used Kashi GoLean cereal and added 1 heaping tablespoon of gluten. I make a lot of bread in my bread machine; this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States