Special Cereal Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
One day after stumbling across this, it was rainy and gross and I didn't want to leave the apartment- so I had to make due with no corn syrup and no peanut butter chips. I ended up using yogurt chips and just drizzling them over the top for a "milk and cereal bar" effect (thats a thing, right?) And i also used honey rather than the corn syrup after searching up a similar recipe- the turn out was incredible! The only thing is they were a bit sweet so next time I'll try it with a less sugary cereal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolly Wicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We have been making these for years. We use 1c sugar, 1 1/2 c karo, and 2 cups PB to a 12 oz box of Special K. They taste way better this way. We also do a 3:1 ratio for chocolate chips to butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Use brown sugar instead of white and they will come out softer and lots easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
i do not make these exact ones, but i make ones called special K bars. we use special k cereal instead. But they are still very Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I have made these twice now and they always turn out hard! I had some about 8 months ago that were perfectly gooey and peanutbuttery and I have yet to perfect this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe. They disappear very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My bf's mom gave us a huge bag of chex mix and it was sitting on the counter for over a month. I decided to try this recipe using our chex mix and it turned out AWESOME! The first batch was gone in less than two days..... We found a way to eat our chex mix from now on. Thanks Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magie
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Theses were great. I used chunky peanut butter in the syrup mixture. And instead of melting the chocolate chips I sprinkled butterscotch chips over and then melted frosting and poured it over. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I followed recipe exactly and they were very good. They are really hard to cut after refrigeration however. I couldn't cut them before because the frosting was still melty, but maybe next time I will take off the boiling syrup right away like others suggest and let frosting harden at room temperature before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States