Special Cereal Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
We call these "Special K" bars, for the obvious reason, at our house. My recipe calls for 1 tsp of vanilla to be added with the peanut butter. If your bars are turning out hard, you are over cooking the sugar and syrup. Once that mixture boils, I remove the pan from the heat and add the peanut butter and vanilla. I also use butterscotch chips instead of peanutbutter ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bird Island, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I guess there is many versions of this recipe. The one I make is similar. I took it to work and my co workers all in the food industry went crazy over these! They are very rich but delish. It is: 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup margarine, 1 cup light Karo corn syrup, 1 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, 8-9 cups cornflakes, 12 oz. peanut butter chips and 12 oz. chocolate chips. Using a large pot, mix sugar, marg, and syrup over med. heat just until it comes to a boil. Remove from heat and add peanut butter, van, and corn flakes. Mix well. Press into 13x9 greased pan. Cool. Melt peanut butter and choc chips together in microwave until melted and spread on top of corn flakes. Keep in frigerator. So fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Great, easy dessert. Very quick to make. I left out the chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. They're great on their own. One important thing: Cut these in the pan while they're still warm!!!! You'll never get the knife through them when they cool off. They're still soft enough to chew, but very hard to cut! I'm glad I cut them beforehand!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
You can use ANY cereal; we used a variety to use them up. There were Cheerios, Golden Grahams, and a little Lucky Charms. You could also use creamy or crunchy peanut butter. The batch we made we didn't have any peanut butter chips for the topping so we used 2 cups milk chocolate chips. I think it was peanuty enough anyway! I like that you can vary it so many ways. I bet it would be even chewier with thinner cereal like flakes or good with rice krispies too. It's good still warm but chewier when room temperature. I suggest cutting when still a little warm because cutting it cold was hard. The kids make this every time...it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
These are awsome and a family favorite. I use Special K cereal and I replace the PB Chips w/ butterscotch chips. Try them, you will like!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made these with Cinnamon Toast Crunch (which I love) and natural peanut butter and they are delicious!! The only problem I had is when I tried to eat one after leaving them in the fridge, they were as hard as rocks. I think I'm going to leave them out on the counter instead of in the fridge - I wasn't sure what to do either way, so we'll give that a shot. Delicious though - great recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Super easy to make. I used Cheerios. It was a hot day, so I cooked the sugar and karo syrup in the microwave on medium until it boiled. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
WOW! These are so much better than rice crispy bars it isn't even funny. I used a combination of cereals I had left over including Kashi Mighty Kids and chex. These are beyond addictive. I didn't have any trouble cutting them thanks to the suggestion another reviewer gave to remove the corn syrup mixture quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Very easy and very delicious! I like that you can use different cereals and it still comes out great. I teach pre-k and we cook on Fridays I can't wait to try this out with them. Thanks Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe. They disappear very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States