Special Cereal Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Excellent bars. The entire family loved them. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious!! Followed recipe as is using rice crispies cereal. I put in frig just until choc was firm enough to cut. A little difficult cutting into cereal but well worth the effort. Will follow advice to take karo off heat as soon as it boils next time. Humid here, so I keep them in the frig. Sooo good. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These are great!!!! I used generic special K and crunchy peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kschoeneck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe. I had bars like this years ago and was looking for the recipe since. I think the original ones I had used Golden Grahams cereal but the Special K was great too. Made a wonderful contribution to the bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENUSLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Im rating it four because of all the sugar! wow! I only used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2cup corn syrup and maybe 3Tbs of honey. That compbined with the peanut butter and chocolate gives it pleanty of stick, no need for all the rest of the sugar. Great way to use up odds and ends cereal though! I used up some Honey Bunches and Fiber One's version of Honey Bunches. Also couldn't find peanut butter chips so I took another reviewers advice and used butter-scotch chips. Great for a grab and go breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow! These are such tasty treats. I used 4 cups of Rice Krispies and 3 cups of Bran Flakes. Thanks for the advice to cut them before refrigerating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Peoples
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Yum! I omitted the pb chips and used a chopped up hershey bar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Not difficult to make, and the taste was good, but these were as hard as rocks. You could do serious damage to your teeth with these cereal bars. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have used brown sugar which is great, too. Also, whatever cereal you have. Even mix and match. I like to use corn flakes, rice krispies, and Special K. Smashing the cereal makes it good. And I don't prefer to frost them, but butterscotch chips with chocolate chips is a good mix. Another tip is to put a few mini-chocolate chips into the cereal mixture when stirring. It makes a swirl effect which adds a little chocolate but not so much as the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 1/2 cups corn syrup, 1 1/2 cups peanut butter, and 6 cups speacial K cereal. Remove sugar mixture from heat AS SOON AS it begins to boil. PRESS the cereal mixture into the pan. For the topping use 12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips, and 1/3 cup peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States