Special Butterscotch Chip Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These were some of the BEST cookies I ever made using this recipe as an outline I modified it, while making the "test batch". I put all the dry ingredients into a bowl in this order: 1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/4 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon baking powder 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup white sugar 1 cup flaked coconut 1 cup cocoa pebbles (chocolate rice krispies) 3/4 cup chocolate chips 4 tablespoons cocoa powder Mix dry ingredients with hand beater, add 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 egg & 1 teaspoon vanilla. Mix well with beater, form with hands into walnut sized balls, slightly flattened. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. They taste like chocolate macaroon cookies...I am definatley going to make these for gifts this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
My daughter made these for gifts for friends and teachers at school. We baked our own batch to test them and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I prepared this cookie in a jar recipe as gifts for Christmas. Everyone who received a jar asked me for the recipe. They're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made these for Christmas gifts and the cookies were great! I used rice crispies for the cereal and put it in a clear baggie on the top to keep the cereal crisp. The people who used the cookies said they were so easy and the cookies were delicious. These are a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Made as directed with seasonal fabric and it DOES make a beautiful gift. I made them for the volunteers at the church. They were well received AND delicious, too. Now it's October '07 and I'm getting ready to make these as gifts again. So what does that tell ya? MAKE THE RECIPE!!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These cookies are so good and fun to give as gifts. Everybody loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My sister gave me this recipe in a jar about 5 years ago and I have been making them every year since! These don't look like they will bake up correctly when you put them on the pan but they come out perfect every time. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These cookies were great. Very nice texture; not to soft or crunchy. I used 2 cups instead of 1 1/8 cups flour. The first time, the cookies had no shape at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made several cookie in a jar recipes for holiday gifts this year and this cookie was one of them. My mother-in-law absolutely loved them and the cookies disappeared super fast. Everyone that tried them loved the cookies. I made these one other time and found that people really do enjoy them. They have a great taste and are so easy to make. I will be making these for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Incredibly yummy cookies. Beware...they are highly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States