Special Butterscotch Chip Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Okay, we all agree they're really yummy. And they make absolutely brilliant gifts -- my 3-year-old helped me fill our jars and we gave them to all his friends so they can do some baking with their moms. Now for the important stuff -- how does it look in the jar? I wanted to "pretty it up" a little (and my kids don't like nuts), so I replaced the pecans with 1/2C chopped glace cherries (red & green mixed together) and used white chocolate pieces instead of butterscotch to get a Christmas color scheme. And the order you put things in is critical! Some ingredients just won't lay flat on top of others. Also, it's really hard to get it all to fit in a jar. If you can find a long, narrow, flat-bottomed glass or something similar, use it to press each layer down as hard as you can. Even doing that, I had to cut down on some of the ingredients. So here's what I came up with that works really well: 8: (bottom layer) 1/4C cocoa (we like 'em chocolatey!) 7: 1-1/8C flour, 1/2t baking soda, 1/4t baking powder, 1/4t salt 6: 1C CocoPops -- press! 5: 1/2C brown sugar -- press! 4: 1/2C white sugar 3: 1/2C white chocolate chips -- press! 2: 1/3C cherries (or nuts, if you prefer) 1.(top layer) fill to the top with coconut and press again. I can usually only fit about 1/2 or 3/4C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I really liked these cookies and I don't really like coconut either. I thought they could have used a little more flour for substance as there was lots of coconut and I wouldn't recommend flattening the balls. I'll definitely make these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Gave these to all my neighbors as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved them and they were very tasty. Great gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
i give these 5 for flavor! they were some of the best tasing cookies i have ever made. they were really flat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a surprisingly delicious cookie. I say surprisingly because I almost threw them out when I saw them. However, one taste and I was a "believer". This wonderfully crisp and chewy-at-the-same-time cookie was a huge hit. I live at an elevation of almost 6,000 ft. so I added a couple of tablespoons of flour. I used Cocoa Krispies cereal and everyone at church loved them. Next week we are buying the ingredients in bulk so we can get together and make a couple hundred jars for Christmas Presents. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry McElhaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I gave these as part of a gift basket last Christmas. All of the ingredients are pretty hard to fit in the large mason jars; you have to pack down each individual layer. But, they looked great once I got it all in there; the colors of the different layers are very complimentary. I've also made these for bake sales and office events. They always get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I didn't give this out as a gift but I made them with all organic ingredients (except the butterscotch chips) and they were really good! I work for an all organic farm so I used a mixture of spelt, kamut and oat flakes instead of the rice crisp and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These cookies are fantastic! I have made these several times, and they always turn out perfectly. I usually use Special-K cereal (crushed), but corn flakes work equally as well. Whenever I want to bake an extra special cookie for friends or family, this is the recipe I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I just made these cookies for my family and a few college kids over to tutor my kids. Wow, I am surprised at how good they taste. I followed the recipe exactly but used regular rice crispies. They turned out pretty flat by they are still so soft. I froze most of the dough so I hope the frozen then baked ones turn out as well. Might have to make these as gifts for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These cookies taste great! They're not too sweet at all so they're perfect for someone looking for a good cookie recipe without all the sugar. One thing I would point out is not to skip the step that involves pressing the cookies before baking. I usually skip this step myself because I like fat chewy cookies, but these ones don't level out on their own. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States