Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
BEST FROSTING I ever made. I did substitute 1.5 cups butter and 1/2 cup shorting for 2 cups shorting and it turned out fantastic. Will use over and over again. Thanks Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Yum! This was the frosting for my daughter's first birthday cake (cake was Creay White Layers, filling was Lemon Filling-- both also on this site). Wonderful, pretty, tasty frosting. Here were my modifications, based on other reviews: - I used 1 c. salted butter, 1 c. shortening, and omitted the salt; - I used only 4.5 cups of powdered sugar; - I used only 1/2 cup (4 oz.) heavy cream. Next time, I will only make 1/2 a recipe. That would have been enough to liberally frost my filled 9-in. 2 layer cake. I think it would be enough even if I were using this frosting to fill the cake. Not that there's anything wrong with leftover frosting-- it's great with fresh strawberries and vanilla wafers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Awesome recipe!! Really easy to make. Don't get Confectioner's sugar (powdered) and Granulated sugar mixed up though, like I did. I agree with other people that less sugar should be used. I used 6 cups of sugar and it was pretty sweet. I should have actually used less sugar since I made this for my son's 1st birthday cake. I love frosting anyway, so I'll just have to eat the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Excellent buttercream frosting! Everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
One of the best icings I have ever used, tasted, etc. Reminds me of when grandma used to decorate cakes! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
this icing works well. Creamy and spreadable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Rick, you rock! I made this frosting to go over a vegan chocolate cake for my daughter's first b-day, and got rave reviews. So easy and yummy! I split the shortening with butter, half and half. I also put in only about 6 c. of the sugar. So good I'll never buy frosting again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
My search for the perfect buttercream frosting has ended. This was so wonderful, not too sweet and so fluffy - everyone thought my cupcakes were from a bakery! Thanks for the wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE FOR BUTTERCREAM FROSTING THAT I HAVE EVER MADE. I LEFT EVERYTHING AS IS, EXCEPT IN PUT ORANGE OIL INSTEAD OF VANILLA EXTRACT. IT WAS GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I have started decorating cakes and am working on finding good recipes for cakes and frostings. I have been using another buttercream recipe, but this blows it out of the water!! I followed the other reviewers and substituted butter for half the shortening. I also added a little almond flavoring. The result was the fluffiest, most buttery, melt-in-your-mouth frosting I could have imagined. I can't wait to have my co-workers sample this next cake!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States