Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
If you're looking for the definitive buttercream recipe, then look no further. Here are a few reasons why this recipe rocks my world: 1) Consistancy: It's PERFECT. Not too gloopy or too stiff. Just right. EVERY time. 2) Flexibility [part 1]: You can easily adjust ingredients to suit tastes of the cake-eaters. Butter instead of shortening is unbelievably rich but a firm favourite for older eaters. The shortening-only version tastes a lot like bakery icing, so popular with a younger crowd. And a mixture of the two gives you the best of both worlds. 3) Flexibility [part 2]: Recipe here makes a shedload. Great if you need to ice cupcakes for a couple thousand of your closest friends, but proportions are such that it is easily halved (to ice one normal sized cake) without losing any flavour or needing a degree in calculus to figure out what the measurements would be. Make it. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess Mandy
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I decided to take a chance and follow the recipe *exactly* - that's right, NO changes - and it was absolutely delicious! 5 Star all the way. I've taken the Wilton decorating classes, and I used to use their frosting, but from now on this will be my staple Buttercream recipe. I've been looking for a Bakery Frosting replica for years, and this is definitely it! Not only is the flavor wonderful, the texture is *perfect* for piping decorations! I made this with a hand held mixer, and my only tip is to REALLY beat the crisco to get it as light and fluffy as possible before adding the powdered sugar, and then beat it as much as possible after adding the sugar, and again after adding the remaining ingredients. If you're looking for a copy cat bakery frosting recipe, this is it! A+ (Exactly as written!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
731 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Vandenberg Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I made a huge birthday cake for 50 people yesterday and wanted to try a different buttercream recipe. I made 2 changes based on other reviews. (1) I used 1 1/2 cups shortening and 1/2 cup butter. I didn't use more butter because of potential problems with softening/melting. (2) I added 1 tsp Wilton's butter flavoring. I left everything else the same. What a great icing! It was very spreadable and great when piping shell borders, rosettes and lettering. It also tinted beautifully. I did have to refrigerate the pastry bags after a minutes of use because the heat from my hands was too much and the icing became very soft. At the birthday party, I had 4 guests who bake tell me that this was the best icing ever--that it was so buttery and not too sweet. I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I tried two variations of this recipe so far. The first time I tried a variation I read in the reviews because I didn't want the frosting to have a greasy after taste. I used 1 c. butter and 1 c. shortening, and only 4.5 cups of powered sugar and 4 oz of heavy cream (along with the other ingrediants). This tasted great and wasn't too sweet. The only problem is that it tended to be a bit more runny that I liked and I had to refrigerate it often because it was getting too soft for my decorations. The 2nd batch I made was 1 1/2 c. shortening, 1/2 c butter and the rest of the ingrediants according to the recipe. This batch came out fabulous! It was sweet (as expected) but with a great consistency for piping, star tip design, and other decorating techniques. I don't care for really sweet frosting, however, I didn't have a problem with this frosting at all. I think from now on I'm going to stick to the 2nd variation for my cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
While this recipe is really good, it is definitely not for cakes to decorate in the Wilton fashion. It is too soft to hold up intricate work. Also, because of the cream, refrigeration is necessary. Another reason to not use it on a large elaborate cake, unless you have a lot of room in your frig. But if you just want to frost a cake this is really delicious. I don't usually like to lick frosting, but this one is lickable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is the best buttercream recipe I have ever tried before, but I read the reviews and substituted 1 and 1/2 cups of the shortening with butter (having made buttercream that tasted "greasy" before) and only added 1/2 a cup of shortening. It was phenomenal!! I froze the extra so that I can use it for any decorating needs in the future - perfect decorating consistency, but tasty also. I also needed to make a lemon buttercream icing, so I substituted the vanilla with lemon extract. I could not stop "taste-testing". Didn't give it 5 stars just because if it was made as is with 2 cups of shortening, I do believe it would be too greasy-tasting. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This really is a GREAT RECIPE however I STRONGLY recommend using half unsalted butter for half the shortening and only 5 cups sifted powdered sugar (otherwise it would be much too sweet). I also used real vanilla powder (less color than extract). With the heavy cream, it becomes a terrificly light, fluffy frosting that spreads beautifully. You could beat in slightly more sugar to part of the finished frosting if you want to use it to pipe roses (but don't use that much sugar to cover the whole cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I substituted the shortening for butter and it was the best frosting I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
After reading several reviews and seeing all the changes everyone made to this recipe, I looked for the opinion of someone who actually followed the recipe. I followed it exactly and it is the best frosting I've used. Fluffy, easy to work with, delicious and a beautiful white color. Thank you, Rick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Yum! This was the frosting for my daughter's first birthday cake (cake was Creay White Layers, filling was Lemon Filling-- both also on this site). Wonderful, pretty, tasty frosting. Here were my modifications, based on other reviews: - I used 1 c. salted butter, 1 c. shortening, and omitted the salt; - I used only 4.5 cups of powdered sugar; - I used only 1/2 cup (4 oz.) heavy cream. Next time, I will only make 1/2 a recipe. That would have been enough to liberally frost my filled 9-in. 2 layer cake. I think it would be enough even if I were using this frosting to fill the cake. Not that there's anything wrong with leftover frosting-- it's great with fresh strawberries and vanilla wafers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States