Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I have been using this recipe for over 3yrs now and have never heard a complaint. I also add 2 TBS of Wilson Meringue to help stiffen the frosting for decorating. I will not use any other buttercream recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Ward-Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great recipe. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was fantastic recipe. Although I modified a few things, I was still satisfied with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I have made this as in and replacing 1/2 cup with real butter. Both turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
slightly too sweet for my taste; i used all butter and was perfect for pastry bag piping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo_Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Was sweet and buttery! Piped and colored nice and was perfect about for four dozen cupcakes! I used 1/2 cup butter as well! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo_Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe is SO easy to make and it tastes absolutely delicious. I made it exactly like the recipe stated and I think it is amazing. I noticed that some people swapped out some of the shortening for butter, I'm not sure how it tastes like that but I can tell you that this recipe is amazing without any alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ienjoypocky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I'm a frosting fanatic--could skip the cake and just eat the frosting. I made this twice, once using half butter, the second time using 3/4 butter to 1/4 shortening. Both times, it came out terrific. I think it's a matter of personal taste, but something about the shortening definitely gives it that bakery flavor. I used real vanilla, and it didn't negatively impact the color of the frosting while significantly adding to the taste. Finally, the heavy cream gives it a wonderful texture. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olga Husiow Olhovsky
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
is recipe is the best. I made my grandson's 1st birthday cake with cupcakes and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Very tasty buttercream. I used half unsalted butter and half vegetable shortening. Wonderful smooth texture and held frosting color great. Consistency was a little looser than I like, but that was fixed by a tad bit more powdered sugar. Overall, this recipe is very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States