Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I have made this on 2 occasions now. The first time I made it I made it with all butter instead of shortening. I assumed making it with shortening would give your mouth that greasy coating you get with store-bought cupcakes. All butter tasted fantastic and for applications where it is not going to be hot or you don't care about making designs then it was perfect. This time around I made it 3/4 shortening, 1/4 butter and so far it has been great. Seems to hold its shape better, and no greasy mouth feel. I used pure homemade vanilla and it was pretty white, but I tinted mine both times so being pure white wasn't a concern of mine. Be aware it makes a TON. I have done 18 cupcakes with it already, and will be doing 3-4 dozen more this weekend. It stores well in a covered container. My go-to buttercream now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I used 1 cup butter with 1 cup shortening, regular vanilla since I was coloring a 4-story tangerine ombre cake. It was fantastic. I didn't pipe although I did use a frosting comb. My go-to butter cream from now on. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
It turned out REALLY nice, BUUUUUUT, THERE WAS WAAAAAAY too much confectioners sugar. I ended up cutting the recipe in half. Ok. Fine. Then I added a half cup of confectioners sugar (icing sugar) and slowly started mixing and blending. Oh my goodness! What a workout! It was brutal trying to mix this. I ended up only putting in 2.5 cups of confectioners sugar, instead of 4, because I just couldn't stir it anymore. It was WAY too hard to stir. I also had to add 3 tablespoons of 10% cream (I didn't have "heavy" or whipping cream so I used what was on hand) and that made it the PERFECT consistency. Yeah, to be honest, WAY too much confectioners sugar. And mine turned out to be the perfect sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I decided to try this for a friend's wedding cake, and it was a huge hit! It was really light and creamy, and not too sweet. The only change I made was I used half butter and half shortening. This will be my go-to frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Just made this using the variation many reviewers suggested of using 1 1/2c shortening & 1/2cup butter. It was like eating a mouth full of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I didn't change anything but the frosting was still a little soft and also a little too sweet for me. Made Angel Food Cake with strawberry filling and fresh berries(filling also from Allrecipes) with this frosting. Nice combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Hashmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This recipe is very good as it is written to make it great, replace 1/2 of the shortening with butter and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I used this recipe exactly as it was for my cousin's hot August outdoor wedding. I made a three-tier wedding cake and tinted the buttercream for her cake. It turned out fantastic. I made it three days before her wedding and stored it tightly in containers for travel. I frosted her cake the day of and put the cake parts back in the fridge in between...then added my gumpaste flowers. It held up nicely in the hot August heat and of course, the most important part...it tasted delicious! Everyone who ate it said it tasted like the professional bakers' secret recipes! The key....let the mixer do all your work and walk away. I let the shortening "fluff" for about 10 minutes and I let it fluff for a long time after each addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by watsonian
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious and super easy! Terrific for decorating cakes. (I used butter-flavored shortening for mine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watsonian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States