Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Amazing! Everybody at my daughter's birthday party raved about the frosting! It's a bit labor intensive but DEFINITELY worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used 1 1/2 cups butter shortening and 1/2 cup butter in addition to only 6 cups confectioners sugar. Eating the frosting on its own I thought, meh but when it was on a cake, WOW! It had just enough sweetness because the cake was sweet too. I will be playing with this frosting with different flavors. This recipe frosted a cake and 24 cupcakes and I still had some left over. I will never buy store frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for Christmas yesterday due to the 900 mostly good reviews. I like sweet but thinking this might be too sweet reduced sugar by 1/3 and it still was similar to eating a spoonful of sugar. Had to adjust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Oh my! This IS the best buttercream I have tried! It isn't too sweet, just right! I did alter the shortening; I used 1 cup soften butter and 1 cup shortening and used 7 TBS evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream, amazing! This will be my buttercream recipe! It piped and crust very well and enough to frost & decorate a 9" three layer cake! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Absolutely the best!! Consistent each time. I do add two sticks of softened butter & half of the listed shortening. Versatile too. Have used is as a base for Pineapple, Lemon, Chocolate, Hazelnut and more. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I am dissapointed, considering the amount of ratings and good reviews this recipe has. I have noticed that buttercream that contain all Crisco or half Crisco and half butter will for sure have that Crisco Flavor and that greasy feel in your mouth once you taste it. So, like many other reviewers, I used 1 1/2 C unsalted butter + 1/2 C Crisco instead. This buttercream turned out TOO soft and TOO sweet. The buttercream looked good albeit sweet BEFORE the whipping cream but I thought I should follow through with the recipe. I added 1 oz of whipping cream and it became soft. Definitely not the recommended consistency if you're wanting to pipe with this buttercream. I'd use less sugar (2-3 C less), and 1 TBSP of whipping cream, if not any at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Great frosting recipe!!!!the sweetness isnt overbearing as in some buttercream recipes. Will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
So like many others I read the reviews and used half butter it came out perfect and delicious. It was also very easy to work with and this is coming from someone who uses genache almost exclusively. However I used salted butter, for two reasons. I needed a smooth finish you should never add regular salt to buttercream as it leaves the final product somewhat grainy popcorn salt would be the way to go. Overall this is an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Even following the suggestions of others - 1 1/2 shortening to 1/2 butter - I found this frosting to be rather greasy and soft, rather than buttery and capable of hcading a design. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States