Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Most amazing buttercream EVER with a stick of butter added for 24 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Well I did everything to the T and I just didn't like it. You could really taste the shortening leaving a thick oily film in your mouth. It was fluffy, however it was very low on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've wanted a buttercream recipe for quite some time that wasn't too sweet and this is it. It's the best recipe I'e used yet. The only changes I make to it is I use half butter and half shortening which gives it a great taste. I also don't have clear vanilla extract on hand so I use the regular one (brown) and even though the frosting isn't bright white, it is still white. It makes a very large amount so I only make half the recipe and it is enough for a batch of cupcakes or a cake. A few helpful tips. Put your butter on the counter a while before you make your frosting so it is room temp. That way you don't have chunks of butter in your frosting that won't blend in. I also put the frosting in a zip lock bag, cut off one corner and pipe onto the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Delicious! I have another frosting recipe that I normally use, but after reading all of the reviews for this one, I had to try it. I am so glad I did - it mixes up beautifully and the texture is perfect. If anything though, I may try all butter next time, since this is a buttercream... and I generally prefer to use butter instead of shortening if I can help it. As is, this is a great recipe - I will definitely post an update if I try it again with the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
definitely Im going to try this recipe it seems perfect for what Im looking for =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I have been searching for years for a perfect icing. This icing was unbelievable! So good in fact, it will make you cry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by When Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This may just be my go-to frosting for cake decorating from now on. It was so easy to make and was delicious. I'm not a big fan of super sugary frostings but this one wasn't too bad. Besides, I use it for kids' cakes and they love the sugar. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderfully white and fluffy. Perfect consistency for decorating. I hate shortening and the greasy feel, but based on the good reviews I gave this recipe a shot. It came out great! No greasiness at all! The secret is to really beat the shortening well first, and then beat again after adding the cream. And folks who commented how this doesn't have butter in it...well, it has heavy cream, and you beat that long enough...you get butter! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Here's what's awesome about this recipe....it's not fussy! You can make it exactly as written and it's wonderful, but you can also tweak it to be just what you want it to be. I have made it as written. I have also made it with half butter half shortening, and with a variety of different flavor extracts. It turns out amazing every time! My one word of advice...if you are serious about decorating, cut down a bit on the cream to keep the icing a bit more stiff. This is one for your recipe book...an easy delicious go to for all your icing needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Can I use regular milk in place of heavy cream, to make buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I'm taking a decorating class at a bakery where we learned using the creamy smooth frosting that the bakery makes everyday. This frosting has the same smooth texture as the bakery's frosting. Now I know how to make it myself. It tastes pretty good too. I decorated a cake in class today using this recipe. My frosting had the best texture for cake decorating in the whole class, thanks to this recipe. This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States