Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is by far the most exquisite buttercream I've ever worked with. I run a cake business from home and have researched and researched for a buttercream icing that i will find satisfactory. I didn't. so i've been working with swiss meringue buttercream for two years. the problem? it's expensive and time consuming. I'm so glad I found this recipe though because it's now going to be replacing my swiss meringue. To tell you a little about the icing, it's exactly as the reviewers have been saying it: it's light and fluffy and doesn't have an artificial flavor to it. I had no problem's icing my cakes and readying them for fondant. This recipe is very forgiving, I used 1.5 c. shortening and 0.5 c butter. I wouldn't have given it five stars with all shortening though. I also used a cup less sugar as I don't like my icing overly sweet and upped the vanilla by another tsp--so adjust to your liking basically. Try this recipe, you won't regret it. Thank you for posting this and changing my life!! I'm soo thankful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I needed an eggnog flavored frosting, so I used this basic recipe substituting the heavy cream with eggnog. It worked perfectly! I did have quite a lot of frosting...enough to frost 2 two-layer cakes with a little left over. This frosting is rather sweet, but if you are not havey handed with the fristing and your cake isn't too sweet it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shall5374

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Incredible! This is now my (and my family's) favorite buttercream frosting. I followed the video's possible substitution of 1 cup of butter for 1 of the cups of shortening and the flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
holds well for cakes. i used it on my nieces bday cake. be careful to not add too much salt or the whole batch is ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My goto frosting recipe. Not too sweet and the perfect consistency. I did make one change, instead of all shortening, I used 1c. butter 1c. shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I'm a sugar junkie and this was the perfect frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
There are a million recipes for buttercream...well not a million :) I was attracted to this recipe because of the use of real cream. I did however, use butter for 1/2 of the shortening. The shortening gives a fluffy white texture (stuff inside a Hostess cake) but lets face it, shortening is not a real food. It is a manufactured processed item that survives on the shelf forever. Next time I make it I will try all butter and cream (hey! thats what is in the name!) and see how it holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Perfect consistency, very very light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Love this! It tastes amazing! Used on a wedding cake - very easy to work with and easy to color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States