Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe is SO easy to make and it tastes absolutely delicious. I made it exactly like the recipe stated and I think it is amazing. I noticed that some people swapped out some of the shortening for butter, I'm not sure how it tastes like that but I can tell you that this recipe is amazing without any alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ienjoypocky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I'm a frosting fanatic--could skip the cake and just eat the frosting. I made this twice, once using half butter, the second time using 3/4 butter to 1/4 shortening. Both times, it came out terrific. I think it's a matter of personal taste, but something about the shortening definitely gives it that bakery flavor. I used real vanilla, and it didn't negatively impact the color of the frosting while significantly adding to the taste. Finally, the heavy cream gives it a wonderful texture. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olya
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
is recipe is the best. I made my grandson's 1st birthday cake with cupcakes and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Very tasty buttercream. I used half unsalted butter and half vegetable shortening. Wonderful smooth texture and held frosting color great. Consistency was a little looser than I like, but that was fixed by a tad bit more powdered sugar. Overall, this recipe is very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Most amazing buttercream EVER with a stick of butter added for 24 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Well I did everything to the T and I just didn't like it. You could really taste the shortening leaving a thick oily film in your mouth. It was fluffy, however it was very low on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've wanted a buttercream recipe for quite some time that wasn't too sweet and this is it. It's the best recipe I'e used yet. The only changes I make to it is I use half butter and half shortening which gives it a great taste. I also don't have clear vanilla extract on hand so I use the regular one (brown) and even though the frosting isn't bright white, it is still white. It makes a very large amount so I only make half the recipe and it is enough for a batch of cupcakes or a cake. A few helpful tips. Put your butter on the counter a while before you make your frosting so it is room temp. That way you don't have chunks of butter in your frosting that won't blend in. I also put the frosting in a zip lock bag, cut off one corner and pipe onto the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Delicious! I have another frosting recipe that I normally use, but after reading all of the reviews for this one, I had to try it. I am so glad I did - it mixes up beautifully and the texture is perfect. If anything though, I may try all butter next time, since this is a buttercream... and I generally prefer to use butter instead of shortening if I can help it. As is, this is a great recipe - I will definitely post an update if I try it again with the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
definitely Im going to try this recipe it seems perfect for what Im looking for =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I have been searching for years for a perfect icing. This icing was unbelievable! So good in fact, it will make you cry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendym

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States