Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
When I took over the frosting making in my family, I was 12. I had watched my mum and all the neighbor ladies make it and did'nt know what the big deal was all about! Of course there were no measurements except for "2lg scoops of Crisco or "fluffo" beat it until it looks fluffy - then start sprinkling in some confec sugar then a little milk -more sugar, more milk until the box (1lb,) was empty. Now 2shakes of salt and 1-2caps (from tha vanilla bottle) of pure vanilla,and finally beat it some more. Choc frosting was made the same way except 2-3Tbsps of cocoa powder was added. Try this recipe as is, and add vanilla or choc. as you like. Thanks for the memories! (This was enough to frost the middle, top and sides of a 8-9in layer cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really good start...I have searched and experimented for a recipe that isn't sickeningly sweet, but will hold its shape for frosting cupcakes--even in warm weather for outdoor birthday parties. I used this recipe as a base, substituting 1 c. of the shortening with butter, and creamed them together until very light and fluffy before adding sugar. I cut back considerably on the powdered sugar (I probably used around 5 cups total), adding about a cup at a time until the texture was a bit thicker than I wanted it to end up, then added the salt & liquid ingredients (I also just eyeballed the cream, adding until the consistency was good). Even then, it was almost painfully sweet and a bit powdery. So I creamed 1 pkg. cream cheese in a small bowl until it was light, and mixed it into the frosting. The end result was sweet with just a hint of tanginess. The texture was perfect, and held up in 85F temps for a birthday party at the park.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've tried a few different frosting recipes off this site but this is my favorite. Like others mention, it's great for decorating and piping edges. Tastes decent too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best frosting ever. I went with all butter and got rave reviews. Consistency is perfect. 1/2 recipe for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe somewhat, but only used a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar and 1.5 cups unsalted butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. Tasted pretty good, somewhat greasy but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Only made 1/2 recipe. Used 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 Land-o-Lakes margarine. Came out just as described. As for the comment on If it doesn't have butter, it's not buttercream. I believe if you whip cream long enough it becomes butter, so technically it can be called a buttercream recipe. Definitely the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Awesome! Perfect for decorating and flat-out yummy. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This made frosting for decorating 36 cup cakes it held up well. I just think buttercream has come a long way from the crisco buttercream days and I just can't see this on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very good. I prefer half butter and half shortening but the kids like all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Photo by irishfinn
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is my go-to frosting, I love it! It's very simple, but delicious, and complements a wide-range of sweets from dark chocolate cake to pumpkin ginger cupcakes. I made a few alterations to the recipe - I use 9 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup whipping cream. This just works a little bit better for my needs and taste, but to each his/her own! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishfinn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 933) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States