Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by GussieCakes
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Love this Buttercream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GussieCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is definitely the perfect recipe for consistency. I didn't have any regular shortening but did have the butter flavored shortening. I thought it was a bit too rich but my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and while the texture is lovely, it tastes just like sweetened shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
When I took over the frosting making in my family, I was 12. I had watched my mum and all the neighbor ladies make it and did'nt know what the big deal was all about! Of course there were no measurements except for "2lg scoops of Crisco or "fluffo" beat it until it looks fluffy - then start sprinkling in some confec sugar then a little milk -more sugar, more milk until the box (1lb,) was empty. Now 2shakes of salt and 1-2caps (from tha vanilla bottle) of pure vanilla,and finally beat it some more. Choc frosting was made the same way except 2-3Tbsps of cocoa powder was added. Try this recipe as is, and add vanilla or choc. as you like. Thanks for the memories! (This was enough to frost the middle, top and sides of a 8-9in layer cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annie
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really good start...I have searched and experimented for a recipe that isn't sickeningly sweet, but will hold its shape for frosting cupcakes--even in warm weather for outdoor birthday parties. I used this recipe as a base, substituting 1 c. of the shortening with butter, and creamed them together until very light and fluffy before adding sugar. I cut back considerably on the powdered sugar (I probably used around 5 cups total), adding about a cup at a time until the texture was a bit thicker than I wanted it to end up, then added the salt & liquid ingredients (I also just eyeballed the cream, adding until the consistency was good). Even then, it was almost painfully sweet and a bit powdery. So I creamed 1 pkg. cream cheese in a small bowl until it was light, and mixed it into the frosting. The end result was sweet with just a hint of tanginess. The texture was perfect, and held up in 85F temps for a birthday party at the park.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've tried a few different frosting recipes off this site but this is my favorite. Like others mention, it's great for decorating and piping edges. Tastes decent too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best frosting ever. I went with all butter and got rave reviews. Consistency is perfect. 1/2 recipe for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe somewhat, but only used a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar and 1.5 cups unsalted butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. Tasted pretty good, somewhat greasy but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Only made 1/2 recipe. Used 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 Land-o-Lakes margarine. Came out just as described. As for the comment on If it doesn't have butter, it's not buttercream. I believe if you whip cream long enough it becomes butter, so technically it can be called a buttercream recipe. Definitely the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Awesome! Perfect for decorating and flat-out yummy. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States