Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
It doesn't get any easier. I halved the recipe and it covered a 9 inch round layer cake. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
To me, this recipe is all form and no flavor. It is the ideal consistency for a nice buttercream. But it tastes like . . Crisco! A giant spoonful of Crisco with each bite. I definitely prefer a buttercream made with butter (or at least some combination of shortening and butter). Can't give it more than three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I don't know why I decided to use a different recipe than I usually do.. But i did. And eh. It tastes weird, too sweet and weird. I used earth balance, powdered sugar, according to the directions I actually didn't add the finally 1 and 1/3 cup of sugar because it was already too sweet. I put the salt, and real vanilla extract, and instead of heavy cream, almond milk and rice milk. But so sweet!! even adding unsweetened cocoa, it is still way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Looking for buttercream recipe & this is not it -- It has NO BUTTER in it. This is just a standard frosting I use for designs & piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brangaccio Marks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
using shorting in frosting is NOT the way to go! I replaced the shorting with unsalted butter.. it was SO much BETTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have mixed several AllRecipes buttercream icings. They are ALL the same, which is delicious. Tweeks here and there in the comments. They are all fat + powdered sugar + cream/milk and a bit of vanilla. But any experienced baker can taste pure lard in these recipes. Holds up well, pipes and spreads well...but they're all lardy-sweet. I happen to have mixed this one last night and just finished a breakfast cupcake. I'm not a pro baker, but this icing mounds up and spreads with a luscious swirl using a butter knife :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was making a cake for a two year olds birthday party but did not want to use my meringue buttercream. I used half butter, half shortening and less cream. Everyone raved. It was easy to work with, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I amade my daughter's birthday cake using this frosting and it was outstanding! I've been buy cakes instead of makeing them lately and wanted to try something different. This was perfect! It is a good size recipe, which is great, and even my leftover frosting disappeared. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
THE BEST FROSTING EVER!!!! I bake quite often and always like to test out new recipes and i saw all the reviews for this one an i said i HAVE to make cupcakes!!! I made vanilla cupcakes and cut this recipe in half delish!! This is my new frosting recipe permanently the search is over :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookies!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Best Frosting I have ever made, Thank You. I didn't have 2 whole cups of Crisco so I made with butter and shortening. Very Very good and great consistency. Remember to whip until fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States