Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
eh, not the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good for piping-I agree with others to use 1 stick butter and 1-1/2 c shortening...i also have either added extra vanilla or flavored with orange flavoring or orange juice concentrate (if you don't mind a very slight orange tint)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was a great frosting to work with! I took the advise of a few other reviewers and used 1/2 cup butter and 1 1/2 cups shortening. I also cut it in half to use to frost one double layer 9" cake...big mistake!!! I did not have enough frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
It doesn't get any easier. I halved the recipe and it covered a 9 inch round layer cake. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
To me, this recipe is all form and no flavor. It is the ideal consistency for a nice buttercream. But it tastes like . . Crisco! A giant spoonful of Crisco with each bite. I definitely prefer a buttercream made with butter (or at least some combination of shortening and butter). Can't give it more than three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I don't know why I decided to use a different recipe than I usually do.. But i did. And eh. It tastes weird, too sweet and weird. I used earth balance, powdered sugar, according to the directions I actually didn't add the finally 1 and 1/3 cup of sugar because it was already too sweet. I put the salt, and real vanilla extract, and instead of heavy cream, almond milk and rice milk. But so sweet!! even adding unsweetened cocoa, it is still way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Looking for buttercream recipe & this is not it -- It has NO BUTTER in it. This is just a standard frosting I use for designs & piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brangaccio Marks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
using shorting in frosting is NOT the way to go! I replaced the shorting with unsalted butter.. it was SO much BETTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have mixed several AllRecipes buttercream icings. They are ALL the same, which is delicious. Tweeks here and there in the comments. They are all fat + powdered sugar + cream/milk and a bit of vanilla. But any experienced baker can taste pure lard in these recipes. Holds up well, pipes and spreads well...but they're all lardy-sweet. I happen to have mixed this one last night and just finished a breakfast cupcake. I'm not a pro baker, but this icing mounds up and spreads with a luscious swirl using a butter knife :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was making a cake for a two year olds birthday party but did not want to use my meringue buttercream. I used half butter, half shortening and less cream. Everyone raved. It was easy to work with, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States