Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
AWESOME recipe just as is! You can also add a bit of butter flavoring and almond extract for a more bakery like taste. Or cocoa powder to make it chocolate. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
The perfect frosting recipe! I have even used it to make cream cheese frosting with this recipe as a guideline substituting half the butter for cream cheese(more if you want a stronger cream cheese taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy2of6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is perfect buttercream. I used butter flavored shortening and it was the best. I put it on the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this with a yellow cake w/lemon filling. I read other reviews and decided to use one and a half cups butter and only a half cup of shortening. I also used four and a half cups of confectioners sugar. Instead of the vanilla I wanted to have a hint of raspberry flavoring so I used raspberry extract in place of the vanilla extract. Everybody LOVED them!! They were all gone and people were asking 4 the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Kreps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I rate this recipe 5 stars with modifications. ile other reviewers I used a combination of butter and shortening because I find using all shortening to make frosting greasy. I also didn't use all 8 cups of sugar - I only used about 5. This is the best buttercream frosting not only that I've made, but have ever tasted. It is light and fluffy without being too overly sweet. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
It looked beautiful, but I personally did not like the flavor. Greasy tasting (created film on the roof of my mouth) and was greasy feeling when I was cleaning up (lots of soap needed). I tried another buttercream recipe with butter and was more satisfied. Just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Thought I would chime in because the reviews were old. This recipe is great as written. Butter always makes things better but the consistency is great. If you are not a cake decorator or don't expect to make lots of cakes soon, 1/2 the recipe. I used this for a "ho ho cake" a clone of the Hostess treat, to fill layers. It was a hit! I replaced 1 tsp of vanilla with 1 tsp of almond extract just because I love the flavor. Also used 1/2 and 1/2 because that is what I had. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is great! I gave it 4 stars because I did have to make modifications, so in it's original form I think it wouldn't have been as great. I did half butter and half shortening and about 7-71/2 cups of confectioners sugar. It's a little on the sweeter side so I could even go with less sugar. Using half the butter really gives it that nice buttercream taste so I do think it's necessary to make that adjustment. I tasted it before adding the heavy cream and it was really good, but still added the cream. I think it's great as is but I think I liked it better before adding the cream so next time I might try it without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have made this recipe twice, and both times it has turned out perfect! I have added the cream slowly, and I have not needed to use it all. This frosting is very light and fluffy, tastes great, and looks beautiful. This is the only buttercream recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I did exactly as written. Best frosting. Thank you Rick for sharing the recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States