Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
used half butter half shortening, creamed for a loooooong time, then added other ingredients. GREAT frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This frosting was so sweet that I had to stop putting sugar in at 5.5 cups. I would advise anyone who makes this to taste while you make it. I would also use butter instead of shortening. To me, shortening has an off taste about it but that's just my preference. Overall it turned out okay...but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I thought this was an amazing buttercream recipe, could be flavored very easily by adding extracts, I used butter extract as I just wanted a rich buttercream frosting- makes a ton of frosting though! Hale it and you will still have plenty for a large cake, or refrigerate the leftovers if you bake a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I have made this frosting 3 times now. I did change it to 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter, but everything else is the same. It is easy to work with, and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It really is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCAP
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
great frosting rick! i'm not accustomed to using heavy cream in frostings, so this recipe intrigued me. I did enjoy it, although i think the recipe calls for far too much sugar (instant toothache). i'm just not sure that the heavy cream made this frosting extra special or unique, other than adding a great deal of fat to the icing. I think there are better buttercream recipes on this site that have the sugar:butter/shortening ratio perfected, and use skim milk so as not to have as much fat. i probably won't use this recipe again, but thanks for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
After reading a ton of reviews, I made this frosting using the exact recipe. The first time I must have done something wrong because it was very airy. The second time, due to lack of sleep, I forgot to sift the powdered sugar, it turned out fantastic. Great consistency, flavor and texture. Will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this to frost a birthday cake. I used half butter, half shortening. At first, the frosting tasted greasy so I added more sugar. Thanks Rick for the good frosting. UPDATE: I've made this several times using equal parts butter and sport ending with no problems. It pipes well and forms a desirable crust. Thanks Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I love this recipe. The only complaint I received was that I didn't put more frosting on the cupcakes really there was plenty of frosting, they wanted more frosting. they loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Subbed butter for shortening and Irish cream for vanilla and this was amazing. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States