Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Best recipe I've found so far for frosting. I use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We used this buttercream to frost cupcakes. It piped very well and didn't get to soft. Tastes very good also. Will use this frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
terrific, but I added two sticks of butter, more conf. sugar, and vanilla, and a bit more cream to make more frosting and give it a more buttery flavor, a more home made flavor, but the texture was CREAMY not gritty like usual, and i really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
good, better if you add a little lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic buttercream recipe, turned out tasting just like my favourite bakery's cakes. I added in an extra tsp of Vanilla for a little more flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe and was so disappointed. It didn't work out for us, way too sweet. I felt like I was eating a sweet rendition of crisco. It was definitely a frosting gone bad....lol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Great frosting! I made some minor modifications: 1. used butter flavored shortening 2. used almond milk instead of heavy cream. I just let my mixer go for a while with the shortening, then after the powdered sugar, and then again after the other ingredients. It spread great, and the whole family thought it was the greatest frosting ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My family and I think this is the perfect recipe for buttercream frosting. I've been trying several different recipes for our favorite white cake and buttercream frosting and I think this one is it. I made the recipe exactly as is and I wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I am a big baker and this was my go to frosting for years. Until I learned about the extreme health hazards of trans fats (~ shortening). This is about the worst thing you can eat healthwise (10x worse than animal fat). I've thrown all of it all of my house and you'll notice that the best bakeries all use butter, not shortening, frosting. Plus butter based frostings taste better. I shutter that so many people are still baking with it and eating it. If you don't believe me, then look at NYC and California who have banned this from restaurants. This is what fast food restaurants use and manufacturers use to extend the shelf life of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I worked in a cafe' that specialized in cakes and everyone raved about the frosting. This is the same recipe except it needs to have 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter. That is why I rated it 4 stars, with the butter it is 5 stars plus. For chocolate just add a can of Hersherys Cocoa and 2 more oz cream. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States