Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Incredible! This is now my (and my family's) favorite buttercream frosting. I followed the video's possible substitution of 1 cup of butter for 1 of the cups of shortening and the flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
holds well for cakes. i used it on my nieces bday cake. be careful to not add too much salt or the whole batch is ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My goto frosting recipe. Not too sweet and the perfect consistency. I did make one change, instead of all shortening, I used 1c. butter 1c. shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I'm a sugar junkie and this was the perfect frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
There are a million recipes for buttercream...well not a million :) I was attracted to this recipe because of the use of real cream. I did however, use butter for 1/2 of the shortening. The shortening gives a fluffy white texture (stuff inside a Hostess cake) but lets face it, shortening is not a real food. It is a manufactured processed item that survives on the shelf forever. Next time I make it I will try all butter and cream (hey! thats what is in the name!) and see how it holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Perfect consistency, very very light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Love this! It tastes amazing! Used on a wedding cake - very easy to work with and easy to color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shanda
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Well first off this recipe makes a LOT of frosting. Could make half of it to cover a normal cake. Second I had a bunch of issues with mixing the sugar and shortening together until "well blended". What a disaster. It was so hard and dry, so I just added the heavy cream before the sugar was blended and it turned out just great. This is the type of frosting that needs to sit a day to really enjoy the flavor. I love this recipe and plan on using it often....but hopefully no more disasters in the kitchen! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Ok, I am an avid baker, at one point had my own custom cake biz. that being said, this recipe is hands down the BEST buttercream frosting i have ever used. Followed recipe to the letter. Perfect! for piping and spreading both. If you are a buttercream lover, youve found the best ever recipe. Thanks for the post Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States