Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a great frosting, but do I need to refrigerate my cake now? I have never made a frosting with milk before and dont want my cake to dry out in the fridge before serving, but also dont want my guests to get sick if the frosting needs refrigerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great. I did change it a little. I used 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everyone loved it... i did use 1/2 butter instead of all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I gave my sister a surprise birthday party tonight and used the scratch strawberry cake recipe from allrecipes.com made in a 12 inch pan and this frosting recipe tinted pink. I used a French Vanilla cake too and cut the layer in half. I frosted the top of the vanilla layer, added some heavy whipped cream and sliced strawberries, then stacked the strawberry cake on this and repeated the frosting step. Topped the cake with the other vanilla layer and frosted the top and sides. It was sort of like a strawberry shortcake taste. The family raved about it. I've been doing cakes off and on for about 38 years and love doing them. I'll make a wedding cake for my youngest daughter's wedding reception next week-end. I love this frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The taste was amazing! I used butter flavored shortening and it came great. This frosting is also great for piping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Half butter and shortening and didn't have cream so used milk...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used 3 parts shortening to 1 part butter. Great consistency and flavor. I received rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Best recipe I've found so far for frosting. I use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We used this buttercream to frost cupcakes. It piped very well and didn't get to soft. Tastes very good also. Will use this frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
terrific, but I added two sticks of butter, more conf. sugar, and vanilla, and a bit more cream to make more frosting and give it a more buttery flavor, a more home made flavor, but the texture was CREAMY not gritty like usual, and i really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States