Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I gave my sister a surprise birthday party tonight and used the scratch strawberry cake recipe from allrecipes.com made in a 12 inch pan and this frosting recipe tinted pink. I used a French Vanilla cake too and cut the layer in half. I frosted the top of the vanilla layer, added some heavy whipped cream and sliced strawberries, then stacked the strawberry cake on this and repeated the frosting step. Topped the cake with the other vanilla layer and frosted the top and sides. It was sort of like a strawberry shortcake taste. The family raved about it. I've been doing cakes off and on for about 38 years and love doing them. I'll make a wedding cake for my youngest daughter's wedding reception next week-end. I love this frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The taste was amazing! I used butter flavored shortening and it came great. This frosting is also great for piping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Half butter and shortening and didn't have cream so used milk...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used 3 parts shortening to 1 part butter. Great consistency and flavor. I received rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Best recipe I've found so far for frosting. I use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We used this buttercream to frost cupcakes. It piped very well and didn't get to soft. Tastes very good also. Will use this frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
terrific, but I added two sticks of butter, more conf. sugar, and vanilla, and a bit more cream to make more frosting and give it a more buttery flavor, a more home made flavor, but the texture was CREAMY not gritty like usual, and i really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
good, better if you add a little lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic buttercream recipe, turned out tasting just like my favourite bakery's cakes. I added in an extra tsp of Vanilla for a little more flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe and was so disappointed. It didn't work out for us, way too sweet. I felt like I was eating a sweet rendition of crisco. It was definitely a frosting gone bad....lol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States