Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
It turned out REALLY nice, BUUUUUUT, THERE WAS WAAAAAAY too much confectioners sugar. I ended up cutting the recipe in half. Ok. Fine. Then I added a half cup of confectioners sugar (icing sugar) and slowly started mixing and blending. Oh my goodness! What a workout! It was brutal trying to mix this. I ended up only putting in 2.5 cups of confectioners sugar, instead of 4, because I just couldn't stir it anymore. It was WAY too hard to stir. I also had to add 3 tablespoons of 10% cream (I didn't have "heavy" or whipping cream so I used what was on hand) and that made it the PERFECT consistency. Yeah, to be honest, WAY too much confectioners sugar. And mine turned out to be the perfect sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I decided to try this for a friend's wedding cake, and it was a huge hit! It was really light and creamy, and not too sweet. The only change I made was I used half butter and half shortening. This will be my go-to frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Just made this using the variation many reviewers suggested of using 1 1/2c shortening & 1/2cup butter. It was like eating a mouth full of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I didn't change anything but the frosting was still a little soft and also a little too sweet for me. Made Angel Food Cake with strawberry filling and fresh berries(filling also from Allrecipes) with this frosting. Nice combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Hashmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This recipe is very good as it is written to make it great, replace 1/2 of the shortening with butter and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I used this recipe exactly as it was for my cousin's hot August outdoor wedding. I made a three-tier wedding cake and tinted the buttercream for her cake. It turned out fantastic. I made it three days before her wedding and stored it tightly in containers for travel. I frosted her cake the day of and put the cake parts back in the fridge in between...then added my gumpaste flowers. It held up nicely in the hot August heat and of course, the most important part...it tasted delicious! Everyone who ate it said it tasted like the professional bakers' secret recipes! The key....let the mixer do all your work and walk away. I let the shortening "fluff" for about 10 minutes and I let it fluff for a long time after each addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by watsonian
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious and super easy! Terrific for decorating cakes. (I used butter-flavored shortening for mine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watsonian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this icing to top sugar cookies,it spreads nice and has a good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison Rollette
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I only modified slightly by swapping a half cup of the shortening for a half cup of unsalted butter, and just dumping a full bag of powdered sugar (bag says approximately 7 1/2 cups), rather than measuring out the 8 cups that the recipe calls for. Used it on my Easter Lamb Cake, 2015! Will use for everything!!! Lamb: I canola oiled my lamb mold with a paper towel, crisco'ed, floured with a sifter until NO bare spots, and chilled the pans in the freezer. Once the batter was ready, I filled him face down, to just under the rolled edge of the pan, and carefully used a spatula to fill the ears. I added a couple of toothpicks, laid across his ears, and a "cake pop" bamboo stick from his head to his neck (like making a letter T) to add structural support. I tied him tightly together with baking twine, and placed him on a cookie sheet for baking. My aluminum lamb mold only has one steam vent, am going to add one. It was hard to tell when he was done with only one whole to poke a straw into. Laid him face down, steam vent side up, to cool. Cooled for 15 minutes, then took off the back "butt" side of the mold. Cooled for another hour and a half, cut all around the edge with a sharp knife, and carefully took his face side out of the other half of the mold. Cut the bottom ridge of his belly off, so he would sit flat, brushed off his loose crumbs, frosted my cake plate for an adhesive, slathered him up with a solid coat of white, then added thin squiggles. No face. :) Picture added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rollette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States