Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I used this recipe exactly as it was for my cousin's hot August outdoor wedding. I made a three-tier wedding cake and tinted the buttercream for her cake. It turned out fantastic. I made it three days before her wedding and stored it tightly in containers for travel. I frosted her cake the day of and put the cake parts back in the fridge in between...then added my gumpaste flowers. It held up nicely in the hot August heat and of course, the most important part...it tasted delicious! Everyone who ate it said it tasted like the professional bakers' secret recipes! The key....let the mixer do all your work and walk away. I let the shortening "fluff" for about 10 minutes and I let it fluff for a long time after each addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by watsonian
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Delicious and super easy! Terrific for decorating cakes. (I used butter-flavored shortening for mine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watsonian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this icing to top sugar cookies,it spreads nice and has a good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison Rollette
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I only modified slightly by swapping a half cup of the shortening for a half cup of unsalted butter, and just dumping a full bag of powdered sugar (bag says approximately 7 1/2 cups), rather than measuring out the 8 cups that the recipe calls for. Used it on my Easter Lamb Cake, 2015! Will use for everything!!! Lamb: I canola oiled my lamb mold with a paper towel, crisco'ed, floured with a sifter until NO bare spots, and chilled the pans in the freezer. Once the batter was ready, I filled him face down, to just under the rolled edge of the pan, and carefully used a spatula to fill the ears. I added a couple of toothpicks, laid across his ears, and a "cake pop" bamboo stick from his head to his neck (like making a letter T) to add structural support. I tied him tightly together with baking twine, and placed him on a cookie sheet for baking. My aluminum lamb mold only has one steam vent, am going to add one. It was hard to tell when he was done with only one whole to poke a straw into. Laid him face down, steam vent side up, to cool. Cooled for 15 minutes, then took off the back "butt" side of the mold. Cooled for another hour and a half, cut all around the edge with a sharp knife, and carefully took his face side out of the other half of the mold. Cut the bottom ridge of his belly off, so he would sit flat, brushed off his loose crumbs, frosted my cake plate for an adhesive, slathered him up with a solid coat of white, then added thin squiggles. No face. :) Picture added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rollette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I used 1 cup of crisco, 3 cups of sugar, 2 tbs of cocoa powder, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1 tsp vanilla to make a vegan light and less sweet vegan version. I'm yet to try the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriamG
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I tried to follow the other reviewers recommendation and follow the recipe exactly. My blender wasn't big enough to use 8 cups of sugar so I only used 4. Even though I cut the ingredients in half, it still made enough frosting for two cakes and I still threw some away. Taste was great though. Not too sweet and consistency was perfect for spreading. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
great recipe i added imitation rum flavoring to it and a few more tablespoons of powdered sugar to balance out the texture and keep the frosting stiff. tho next time i think i will try substituting some real unsalted butter for some of the shorting to give it a smoother flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farminmama
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
after trying multiple recipes, I finally found one that works great for decorating a cake. it set up to be the perfect consistency for piping roses. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
The consistency of the frosting was good, but it tasted really salty to me. Next time I would leave out the salt and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States