Special Beef Rendang Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Tasty and quick (once you get everything cooking). I would actually cook the meat in the coconut milk mixture for the stated time- it is still moist and tender but it infuses the flavors. I also added carrots, potatoes, and green peas. A note on the curry paste- it is usually sold in Asian markets in cans the size of tuna, If you buy this size, half a can will make a pretty spicy dish. Usually a fourth of a can will impart pleanty of flavor if you like some spice but not too much. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Good flavors, but HOT, HOT, HOT!!! I omitted the chili and only used half the curry paste and it was still almost too spicy to eat. Plus, watch out -- tumeric will stain your clothes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I changed this recipe up a bit. I didn't have any dried shrimp so i left that out. I used only 1 Tbsp of Sambal Oelek paste instead of the red chili paste. My kids don't like it to spicy. I also added 1 T of cumin. I added some extra veggies. 1 jicama chopped, 1 green pepper chopped,1 shredded carrot and 1 cup snow peas chopped and 1 cup chopped kale. I always add extra veggies just to get them in for the kids. These added veggies added a lovely color. I found it a bit thick after the veggie addition so i added 1 cup plain yogurt. At the end i also added 1 cup raisins and 1/2 cup sesame seeds Extra crunch and a bit of sweetness from the raisins. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Pretty good. Cheated massively by not pre-treating the beef (time reasons), just chucked it in and sauteed it with the garlic, onions etc. Didn't have dried shrimp, so substituted prawn paste which worked well, otherwise used ingredients specified - including red chilli pepper. Served with steamed rice and the whole lot went in minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Love it!!! This recipe is similar to my mom's. Recommend leaving out the shrimp. though. For a great flavor to enhance the curry, try with cooked crumbled bacon on top, and serve over steamed Thai Jasmine rice! Delicious!!! Thanks so much for sharing it, my mother passed away when I was young, and I never did get the original recipe, this one is the most similar that I have found to date. Krup Khun Ka!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I have tried just about every curry recipe on this site and this is my favorite! I did brown the beef (coated in a little soy sauce and flour) instead of boiling it for sake of time. I also omitted the shrimp because my wife doesn't like anything remotely fishy tasting. Still turned out fantastic! Goes great with some roti and basmati rice. But be forewarned, it is very spicy (like curry is supposed to be).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
not enough sauce for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
this recipe is wonderful...soooo delicious! my family loved it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Sorry, I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I didn't do the beef softening thing. Just browned the meat then included it in the sauce and simmered the whole thing for about 2 hours. Omitted the dried shrimp and the lemon grass but added a splash of soya sauce, squeeze of lemon juice & teaspoon of sugar for balance. The flavour was quite nice but the dish on a whole was too spicy. It could have been the red curry paste I used or because I cooked down the sauce over 2 hours. We like spicy foods but this was just too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States