Special Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Really great even after I exchanged the Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose flour for the regular flour. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious! I substituted butter for the shortening (which I never use because it's loaded with trans fats which are terrible for you)...next time may try applesauce as one review suggested to save on calories. I also didn't add the nutmeg or cloves (only because I didn't have any) and added vanilla. I was going to do 1/2 all purpose & 1/2 whole wheat flour but my daughter used all the all purpose flour the other day & didn't tell me we were out so I used all whole wheat (can't tell the difference in taste anyway - I don't think). Did 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar. Very moist with a little crisp to the top which I LOVE and the house smelled incredible for a hours! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this several times now and we LOVE it!!! So moist and delicious. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really made a lot of banana bread with this recipe and I didn't change a thing! It was moist yet dense and that is what I love about it! It has a lot of bananas in it and the spices make it really delish!! I tried another one on here that used sour cream and it was moist and good, although my family still liked it, it was not as much banana or spicy flavor nor the denseness to it. I prefer this one best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phil63
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Followed the Recipe pretty closely. No nuts and had only 5 bannanas. I used glass loaf dishes cooked for 45 mins then another 15 mins and almost overdone. Tastes fantastic...I'm glad it was enough for 2 loafs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Pretty good, but not very identifiable as banana. K likes better. I only put in 1/2t cloves & 1/2t nutmeg - & the cinnamon as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe that was just a bit different. Fantastic banana bread!!!! My family humor me about my baking, but this time they assured me it was the best they ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This bread is very moist and really tasty. The bananas came out to 2 cups of mashed bananas (Sam asked in a previous review). I cut all of the spices in half for my kids taste buds but it would be just as good as the recipe stated. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Awesome! So much better than coffee shop or groccery store banana bread. The recipe my mom made was much more dense, but I really liked this lighter version too. I only did a 1/2 batch, I forgot to add the walnuts somehow, and only used 1/2 the cloves. It was still great. Perfect for fall! I couldn't find my loaf pan so I baked it in a greased angel food pan for 1 hr. Because it is so light, I might actually serve it as a cake with some lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this last night just as written. It is so good. Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States