Sparkling Holiday Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is amazing!!! I love it and it's beautiful to boot! I didn't follow this exactly - I used 7 c. of fruit total - probably 5 c. strawberry/2 c. cranberry, 7 c. of sugar, one packet of pectin, the juice of two tangerines and one lemon and the zest of the tangerines. The flavor is outstanding. Mine is just coming to cool now (I did a water bath), so I don't know how set it will be with the extra acidic juice, but we use jam a lot in plain yogurt or on pancakes so we don't mind if it's a bit thin. Really, really outstanding!!! Added the next day: the jam is cooled and is definitely set like a jam - not thin at all. And really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This jam is delicious. It's also convenient because it makes a large amount for many Christmas gifts. I used frozen strawberries and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I LOVED this jam for Christmas gifts! Used 8oz pointsettia jars and it was beautiful. Used 2 lbs of strawberries and 8 cups of sugar, also added 1/2 cup of lemon juice which makes it tarter and redder as well. I got 18 8oz jars out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I made this recipe in 4 oz jars and gave them away for Christmas with a loaf of bread. I could not believe the compliments-- everyone loved it. I used frozen strawberies instead of fresh. Just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Delicious! Even sweet enough for those who don't like cranberries. I used about 1/2 the recommended sugar and it was plenty sweet. In addition, I cooked the whole thing for about 30 minutes to make sure the cranberries were adequately soft for spreading. I gave it as gifts for the holidays and I've had requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this jam for craft fairs and it was by far the best seller. Excellent for christmas giving. Tastes more like Strawberry than Cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I did not have the best of luck with this recipe - it turned out too grainy. I changed it to 5 cups of strawberries mashed, about a cup of cranberries run through the food processor, 7 cups of sugar and one packet of pectin, oh and a dash of lemon juice, and it came out much better. Had more of a fruity taste, not so sugary. I just don't think I broke down the sugar long enough on the orignal batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
YUM! This is the BEST jam recipe I have ever used. I made it for a craft show, sold out, and got tons of compliments. I have to make another batch today for Christmas baskets. I followed the recipe exactly and got perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Yum! I like chunkier jam, so I think I'll skip chopping the strawberries next time, but otherwise, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Appie
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Been making this jam for the past 4 years now. Every Christmas my friends and family get a jar and they always love it! I just add a little orange zest and juice of one orange. I find it really brightens the flavor. Other than that, it's a perfect recipe! And the little bit thats left over always goes on pancakes the next morning. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States