Sparkling Holiday Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very easy recipe to follow and I hadn't made any kind of jelly/jam since I was in Home Economics class in high school so I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. I did use frozen strawberries in place of the fresh and used fresh cranberries. I gave jars away to family and girls in the office at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was my first time making jam!!! I must say using this recipe I look like a pro!!! It tasted awesome will always use this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This stuff is wonderful - and it really does sparkle! Made a batch this morn in about an hour - so easy. Used frozen strawberries (full bag: 40 oz) and fresh cranberries. Had about 3/4 cup of seedless puree of raspberries and added that too. Also added about 1/4 c lemon juice and 2 cups short of the full 5# of sugar. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
WOW! what a phenomenal recipe! It was my first time canning anything, and it was very easy to follow. We used fresh strawberries from the farm, and frozen cranberries. Once chopped, we didn't have quite exact measurements of the strawberries, and it turned out that I only had 1 bag of sugar (2 kg, about 4.4 pounds) but it still turned out wonderfully. So it's definitely a hardy recipe - not touchy and likely to fail if you breathe incorrectly around it. Wanna know a secret? I actually don't like jam, but this particular jam I'll be eating and NOT giving away. :) The taste is perfect - not too sweet, OR too tart. I have to make another batch - my husband won't give the jars up for the function I was prepping them for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
It was much easier than I thought it would be. I gave it out for the holidays and I got raves from everyone. Some people are even saving their jars in case I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My girlfriend and I made this for Christmas gifts....It looks beautiful in quilted jars and tastes sweet but tart. Make sure you skim off the foam which will make the jam cloudy. Try one tsp of margerine/butter in pot as your boiling jam.This will help decrease foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this easy delicious jam for friends and famliy and gave in cute baskets as gifts. I am still getting raves about it. I will make again next Christmas b/c I am getting requests already! Thanks for an easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this recipe twice this week and followed the recipe as is using frozen strawberries & cranberries. Could not get it to jell up. The second time I even used another box of fruit pectin for a total of three boxes with no luck. I don't believe I will try again. Very disappointed because I wanted to give away at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this with several modifications since I had some persimmons I wanted to use up. I halved the recipe, used 1/2 cup of persimmon pulp to replace part of the cranberries, and added tangerine and lemon juice. Made 5 eight ounce jars. It's delicous! Next time I'll probably follow the recipe more closely since I won't have any more persimmons. A great recipe base for jam in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is excellent! My first time making jam and it could not have been easier or come out better. Very festive looking! My pkgs of pectin were only 1 and 3/4 oz each so I cut strawberries (I used frozen) down to 8 cups. I added juice of half a large orange (I read the acid helps jam to jell). I only added 2 and 3/4 lbs sugar and it was plenty sweet. Everyone in my family loves it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States