Sparkling Grapefruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
First time followed recipe as written and it was great! Second time, I used sugar free strawberry jello, 12 packets of equal, and no sugar added jarred grapefruit and it was just as good!!!! So you have options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I used 3 instead of 4 ruby red Texas grapefruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was given a huge bag of pink grapefruits and didn't know what to do with all of them. This was a creative new use for them. I liked the sweet and sour combo with the strawberry gelatin. I would make this again if I had an abundance of grapefruit. The only thing I may change is using more gelatin as I didn't have enough to cover all the bottom of the pie and couldn't spread it easily with the grapefruit in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is pretty good but it is more like a jello in pie crust. While in Texas I was given a recipe for a Texas Grapefruit Pie which is more like a chiffon pie, so refreshing..try it . It uses marshmallows and grapefruit sections, etc. I shared it under my Profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My Dad has always been a huge grapefruit fan! When visiting his Mom, our Nana, in Florida he'd love having grapefruit and insist my brother and I each have a spoonful of the juice. I made this for Dad. Used a graham cracker crust and sections of grapefruit. Used store-bought Ruby Red for the juice. Lemon jello and did a layer on the bottom of a combination of cream cheese + vanilla extract. OUTSTANDING and thanks for this very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MonicaG
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The only change I made to this was to use a graham cracker crust, both because it was what I had on-hand and I thought it would be better. I also found it only needed two normal-sized grapefruits. All in all it was quite tasty and if I ever need to get rid of some grapefruit I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very nice, fresh flavor. I made one major change; I used lime jello, which made it look like a Halloween project but tasted awesome! Did not have whipped cream to serve with it, but it made a nice light end to a dinner of brats and beer. Thanks for an interesting, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was so surprised at how good this was. I had a ton of grapefruit from a friend's tree and was looking for something unique. This was perfect sweet and sour combo. I wasn't expecting too much after some of the other reviews but I really enjoyed this. I made my own pie crust and I think it helps that the grapefruit I used were a really good quality. I probably used about a cup of grapefruit juice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We loved this pie and it was so pretty. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used lemon jello. My tree produces yellow fruit so that is what I used. I also used 3oz cream cheese that I sweetened and added vanilla. This I put on the bottom and sides of my baked pie crust then add the fruit mixture on top. I peeled the fruit like you would an apple removing the outer membrane. Then placing the knife along the inner membrane slice to the center and simply push the section out. Very easy fast and nothing but fruit. I can't wait to try this recipe with oranges and strawberry jello. UPDATE 3/10/07 Made this with oranges, peach jello, no sugar and a little lemon juice to give it a sweet/sour taste. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I found this recipe to be delightful. I used really fresh grapefruit from the Texas Valley area. They were large, with very firm fruit. One was plenty to make one pie. There was NO juice dripping after sitting for four hours. Had to use prepared grapefruit juice, which worked fine. The only change I made was to use lemon jello because that's what I had on hand. I've since had the strawberry and prefer lemon. Everyone at the office thought this was a most unusual presentation and really liked it. I'll do this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States