Sparkling Grapefruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this for my mom for Mother's Day since grapefruit is her favorite food. The rest of us aren't huge grapefruit fans but we all actually ate it. She loved it so much that I recently had to make her another pie for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We loved this pie and it was so pretty. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used lemon jello. My tree produces yellow fruit so that is what I used. I also used 3oz cream cheese that I sweetened and added vanilla. This I put on the bottom and sides of my baked pie crust then add the fruit mixture on top. I peeled the fruit like you would an apple removing the outer membrane. Then placing the knife along the inner membrane slice to the center and simply push the section out. Very easy fast and nothing but fruit. I can't wait to try this recipe with oranges and strawberry jello. UPDATE 3/10/07 Made this with oranges, peach jello, no sugar and a little lemon juice to give it a sweet/sour taste. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
We loved this pie. It's cool and refreshing with just the right mix of sweet and tart. I used a jar of pink grapefruit sections from the produce isle. That simplified this recipe immensely. Also used splenda instead of sugar and sugar free Jello so the diabetics in the family could have some. I was pleasantly surprised and will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I tried this pie in Florida and was ecstatic to find the recipe when I got home. It tasted just like the original that the owner claimed was a "secret family recipe". To save time, I cheated and used jarred red grapefruit from the produce section of most grocery stores. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I found this recipe to be delightful. I used really fresh grapefruit from the Texas Valley area. They were large, with very firm fruit. One was plenty to make one pie. There was NO juice dripping after sitting for four hours. Had to use prepared grapefruit juice, which worked fine. The only change I made was to use lemon jello because that's what I had on hand. I've since had the strawberry and prefer lemon. Everyone at the office thought this was a most unusual presentation and really liked it. I'll do this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was so surprised at how good this was. I had a ton of grapefruit from a friend's tree and was looking for something unique. This was perfect sweet and sour combo. I wasn't expecting too much after some of the other reviews but I really enjoyed this. I made my own pie crust and I think it helps that the grapefruit I used were a really good quality. I probably used about a cup of grapefruit juice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My Dad has always been a huge grapefruit fan! When visiting his Mom, our Nana, in Florida he'd love having grapefruit and insist my brother and I each have a spoonful of the juice. I made this for Dad. Used a graham cracker crust and sections of grapefruit. Used store-bought Ruby Red for the juice. Lemon jello and did a layer on the bottom of a combination of cream cheese + vanilla extract. OUTSTANDING and thanks for this very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I used 3 instead of 4 ruby red Texas grapefruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
First time followed recipe as written and it was great! Second time, I used sugar free strawberry jello, 12 packets of equal, and no sugar added jarred grapefruit and it was just as good!!!! So you have options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
It's original, and it does taste pretty good, it looks very pretty, but grapefruit???!! I think if I were pregnant and craving some sweet grapefruit pastry thing BOY this would be IT! However, the next time I have to bring a pie somewhere I would either make a "really" small grapefruit pie, and bring a more popular choc. pie. People all want to taste it, but no one seems to be in the mood to eat more than a few bites, it's too much like breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States