Sparkling Grapefruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We loved this pie and it was so pretty. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used lemon jello. My tree produces yellow fruit so that is what I used. I also used 3oz cream cheese that I sweetened and added vanilla. This I put on the bottom and sides of my baked pie crust then add the fruit mixture on top. I peeled the fruit like you would an apple removing the outer membrane. Then placing the knife along the inner membrane slice to the center and simply push the section out. Very easy fast and nothing but fruit. I can't wait to try this recipe with oranges and strawberry jello. UPDATE 3/10/07 Made this with oranges, peach jello, no sugar and a little lemon juice to give it a sweet/sour taste. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I found this recipe to be delightful. I used really fresh grapefruit from the Texas Valley area. They were large, with very firm fruit. One was plenty to make one pie. There was NO juice dripping after sitting for four hours. Had to use prepared grapefruit juice, which worked fine. The only change I made was to use lemon jello because that's what I had on hand. I've since had the strawberry and prefer lemon. Everyone at the office thought this was a most unusual presentation and really liked it. I'll do this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
We loved this pie. It's cool and refreshing with just the right mix of sweet and tart. I used a jar of pink grapefruit sections from the produce isle. That simplified this recipe immensely. Also used splenda instead of sugar and sugar free Jello so the diabetics in the family could have some. I was pleasantly surprised and will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I'll start by saying that I thought the contrasting sweet and sour flavors really worked. The strawberry was perfect, imo. However, I took on board the reviewer's comment regarding the grapefruit membranes, and decided to get rid of them as well as the pith. Well, with 4 large grapefruits, this took a LONG time (and I didn't even need all of the flesh. Three fruits would have been enough). I then made the jello filling as directed. Once cooled, it was extremely thick and rubbery, and the pie was very difficult to eat. If I were to make this again, I would omit the cornstarch, and cut the grapfruit into much smaller pieces, perhaps even crush it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was so surprised at how good this was. I had a ton of grapefruit from a friend's tree and was looking for something unique. This was perfect sweet and sour combo. I wasn't expecting too much after some of the other reviews but I really enjoyed this. I made my own pie crust and I think it helps that the grapefruit I used were a really good quality. I probably used about a cup of grapefruit juice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I was excited to try this due to positive reviews...Maybe we are a minority, but....NO ONE liked it! The grapefruit remains pretty bitter and the glaze part is too sweet...the two don't mix. No amount of whipped cream helped! Beyond the taste factor, it was difficult to eat with the membrane parts of the grapefruit seeming plastic-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My Dad has always been a huge grapefruit fan! When visiting his Mom, our Nana, in Florida he'd love having grapefruit and insist my brother and I each have a spoonful of the juice. I made this for Dad. Used a graham cracker crust and sections of grapefruit. Used store-bought Ruby Red for the juice. Lemon jello and did a layer on the bottom of a combination of cream cheese + vanilla extract. OUTSTANDING and thanks for this very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I used 3 instead of 4 ruby red Texas grapefruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very nice, fresh flavor. I made one major change; I used lime jello, which made it look like a Halloween project but tasted awesome! Did not have whipped cream to serve with it, but it made a nice light end to a dinner of brats and beer. Thanks for an interesting, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
So easy, and tasty. The jello really cuts throught the sour of the grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States