Sparkling Grapefruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I'll start by saying that I thought the contrasting sweet and sour flavors really worked. The strawberry was perfect, imo. However, I took on board the reviewer's comment regarding the grapefruit membranes, and decided to get rid of them as well as the pith. Well, with 4 large grapefruits, this took a LONG time (and I didn't even need all of the flesh. Three fruits would have been enough). I then made the jello filling as directed. Once cooled, it was extremely thick and rubbery, and the pie was very difficult to eat. If I were to make this again, I would omit the cornstarch, and cut the grapfruit into much smaller pieces, perhaps even crush it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I tried this pie in Florida and was ecstatic to find the recipe when I got home. It tasted just like the original that the owner claimed was a "secret family recipe". To save time, I cheated and used jarred red grapefruit from the produce section of most grocery stores. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
It's original, and it does taste pretty good, it looks very pretty, but grapefruit???!! I think if I were pregnant and craving some sweet grapefruit pastry thing BOY this would be IT! However, the next time I have to bring a pie somewhere I would either make a "really" small grapefruit pie, and bring a more popular choc. pie. People all want to taste it, but no one seems to be in the mood to eat more than a few bites, it's too much like breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I was excited to try this due to positive reviews...Maybe we are a minority, but....NO ONE liked it! The grapefruit remains pretty bitter and the glaze part is too sweet...the two don't mix. No amount of whipped cream helped! Beyond the taste factor, it was difficult to eat with the membrane parts of the grapefruit seeming plastic-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
We loved this pie. It's cool and refreshing with just the right mix of sweet and tart. I used a jar of pink grapefruit sections from the produce isle. That simplified this recipe immensely. Also used splenda instead of sugar and sugar free Jello so the diabetics in the family could have some. I was pleasantly surprised and will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
So easy, and tasty. The jello really cuts throught the sour of the grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this for my mom for Mother's Day since grapefruit is her favorite food. The rest of us aren't huge grapefruit fans but we all actually ate it. She loved it so much that I recently had to make her another pie for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
This was a very interesting recepe. I made it again with oranges and peaches and other fruits, and turned it into a "fruit salad pie" instead of a "grapefruit pie"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
The most difficult & time consuming part of this whole recipe was taking the pith completely off the grapefruits. Once that was done the rest was easy. It's definately different, but in a very good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States