Spareribs and Kraut Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Spareribs and Kraut Recipe
  • READY IN ABOUT hrs

Spareribs and Kraut

Recipe by  

"This simple dish of baked spareribs and sauerkraut is a winner on a cold winter night. Serve with crusty rye bread and butter."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 4 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    10 mins
  • COOK

    1 hr
  • READY IN

    1 hr 10 mins

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). Coat a 9x13 inch baking dish with cooking spray. Season the ribs with salt and pepper, and arrange them in the greased baking dish.
  2. Roast for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven. Remove from the oven, and reduce the temperature to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Set the ribs on a plate, and drain excess grease from the baking dish. Spread the sauerkraut evenly in the bottom of the dish. Place the ribs on top with the meat side up. Tuck the potato wedges in amongst the ribs. Cover tightly with heavy aluminum foil.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Carefully remove the foil to avoid hot steam, and serve.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Aug 23, 2007

I thought this recipe was very good, I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and, seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top ,I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist,I will make these again.

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Nov 18, 2007

I doubled the time for the ribs and the kraut. The ribs were cooked ok, but not falling off the bone tender. Agree with an earlier reviewer, an hour for the ribs and three hours for everything combined. Also, I added 1/4 of a chopped onion to the sauerkraut. It was too crunchy and prominent at the end. Pre-cooking is needed.

 
Jun 15, 2007

I've been making this recipe for years. Only I use garlic salt and pepper to season the ribs. Then I brown them and leave them at the bottom of the pan and put the sauerkraut on top. The garlic salt really adds some zip to the meat. I serve it with mashed potatoes and my husband is in heaven.

 
Feb 25, 2010

Das ist gut!! Just like Mama used to make. :) I used boneless country ribs and they came out nice and tender. I used garlic powder, onion salt and pepper over the ribs before the first bake. I used a can of sauerkraut, (forgot to check how much they called for here before fixing) but next time I'd use two cans, it went quickly! I increased the cooking time to ensure the ribs would be tender. :) This is a keeper!

 
Jan 02, 2007

I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND EVEN TWEAKING IT, IT CAME OUT BAD. IF YOU TRY THIS, I WOULD SUGGEST INTERMINGLING THE SAUERKRAUT ALL OVER THE RIBS TO GIVE A BETTER TASTE AND ELIMINATE THE PEPPER AND SALT AND ADD GALIC AND ONION POWDER. WE HAD TO COOK OURS WAY LONGER, AND IT CAME OUT TOUGH, FAR FROM WHAT WE EXPECTED. NOT A WAY TO START OUT THE NEW YEAR.

 
Dec 21, 2011

Nice basic recipe. browned the ribs in the oven, drained off the fat, then put them in a slow cooker. To the kraut I drained only half the liquid, shredded a small apple, and medium potato. I tossed this together with a tablespoon of caraway seeds, and placed this mixture in and around the ribs, cooked them on low for six hrs. The end result, was a falling off the bone, flavorful meal. I served these with twice backed potatoes.

 
Nov 08, 2006

Its a good basic recipes that can take tweaking. I sprinkled the ribs with some ground sage as well as the salt and pepper. Also added a bay leaf to the sauerkraut. I also baked the ribs at 350 for 1 hour before adding the vegetables and then left it at that temp for another hour. The ribs literally fell off the bones! My husband just loved it and it's now a part of our permanent recipe collection.

 
Feb 07, 2008

Update to my previous rating. I used 'sliced spareribs' (not country style), sorry for the error.

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 978 kcal
  • 49%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 43.4 g
  • 14%
  • Cholesterol
  • 241 mg
  • 80%
  • Fat
  • 60.6 g
  • 93%
  • Fiber
  • 6.5 g
  • 26%
  • Protein
  • 62.4 g
  • 125%
  • Sodium
  • 1040 mg
  • 42%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States