Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is a very pretty soup. Easy to make. I would start by boiling the beans and wait till the beans are almost cooked untill cooking the sausages. Also, it does not really say what to do with the saffron once it is soaking. I assumed just add it to the pot. As a personal preference I lowered the amount of the garlic. I used italian sausage and added some black and cayenne peppers to add the spice of the andouille. I will definitely make again and next time use the adouille. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIRELROKA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I ended up changing the recipe at little due to what I had on hand. I substituted green bell pepper for the red, turkey sausage for the andouille, and I browned the sausage in cajun seasoning instead of adding sweet paprika. I'm sure the recipe is just as delicious as originally intended, but this is what was in the kitchen. My husband and I thought this soup was awesome. I will definitely cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIRELROKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Mine turned out more like a stew, but it was really good! I used navy beans instead of Northern beans, but they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I just made this soup and it is definaley a keeper. I did make a few changes however. I used navy beans, since I don't care for northern beans. And I've never heard of saffron so I left that out. And I used italian sausage and added red pepper flakes to spice it up and a few chicken bouillion cubes. I tossed everything in the crock pot except the sausage and kale. When everything was almost done, I added my cooked meat and sauted kale and cooked another hour to blend in. This is absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. Even my kids eat it. The sausage is very important to this soup -- make sure it is andouille sausage. It adds much of the flavor. Also, I used canned beans and started the recipe at step 3. It makes this soup far less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was good, but I didn't want to spend 2.5 hours making this so I used fully cooked chicken jalapeno sausage and canned cannelini beans, and changed the prep to make this just under an hour from start to finish. I sauteed the onions and the chopped sausage until onion was tender. Added the garlic, paprika, bell pepper, and kale and cooked a few minutes. Added 4 cups homemade chicken broth, saffron, and rinsed beans. Simmered for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This has good meaning behind it. Very good tasting ingredients here. However there is not NEARLY enough liquid to make this a "soup" It is more like a dense stew. I had to increase the chicken broth by 2 cups and then add another cup of water near the end to stop the sodium from creeping up. I love Kale in this and I added 1 link chorizo along with 2 andouille sausages - came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Spanish Style White Bean & Sausage Soup Haiku: "Fail soup, I am sad. Directions flawed, but good taste. (But on the next day.)" I was mortified to serve this to company, only to find that the beans were still hard as pebbles. I followed the recipe, only simmering my beans for more like 3 hrs., and simmered the entire soup for an additional 2 hrs. I couldn't quite get the 1st step of, what? Boiling the andouille, only to brown it later? Also, it doesn't clarify as to when to return the saffron/broth to the pot, so I just did that while it was simmering. I was overjoyed at the thought of this recipe, as I leap for anything that calls for either saffron (treasured spice that I so rarely use) or andouille (so tasty!), and loved the idea of using kale in a soup. And speaking of calling it "soup" - no way, this definitely needed additional liquid, as others have mentioned in their reviews. Sooo, we boiled and re-simmered the soup last night, and made sandwiches, and I've just now sat down to a "real" bowl of the soup, and yes, it tastes fantastic - very unusual, spicy, and earthy. I hope to make it again, but will just use canned beans, and maybe dump everything, except the kale, in the crockpot to decrease the troublesome steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I cut back on the sausage a bit and used fire-roasted tomatoes for a smokier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this last winter for a family Spanished themed dinner. It was WONDERFUL! I have made it a couple time since and it is clearly a favorite of mine. I have modified the cooking a bit. First, I boiled the beans according to the instructions on the pkg. I believe you put the beans in water, bring to boil, remove from heat and let it sit an hour. This reduces cooking time enormously. Second, I don't cook the sausage separately. The only Andouille sausage I have found was precooked so I sliced it up and added it to the soup. Third, since the soup has to simmer it may lose liquid, I add water or broth in order to compensate and then it ends up as soup, as it should. Fourth, I add the sausage to the beans when simmering, it gives it more flavor and the beans need longer than 10. I used ALL the ingrediants as the recipe calls. I used kale for the first time and it was wonderful. Saffron is expensive but this soup requires it to be done correctly. Mmmm I think I need to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States