Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made this today and it's great. Another great recipe for those cold winter months. I cut down the cooking time by sauteeing the onion and bellpepper in the pot first, then adding the garlic. Then added 3 cans of beans (undrained), 1.5 cans water, 3 chicken bouillon cubes, seasonings, and the sausage. Brought to a boil, then simmer for about 20 mins. Added the kale for 10 more minutes. Very easy. I don't see the point of steps 1 and 2. They seem very time-consuming for little result. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Spanish Style White Bean & Sausage Soup Haiku: "Fail soup, I am sad. Directions flawed, but good taste. (But on the next day.)" I was mortified to serve this to company, only to find that the beans were still hard as pebbles. I followed the recipe, only simmering my beans for more like 3 hrs., and simmered the entire soup for an additional 2 hrs. I couldn't quite get the 1st step of, what? Boiling the andouille, only to brown it later? Also, it doesn't clarify as to when to return the saffron/broth to the pot, so I just did that while it was simmering. I was overjoyed at the thought of this recipe, as I leap for anything that calls for either saffron (treasured spice that I so rarely use) or andouille (so tasty!), and loved the idea of using kale in a soup. And speaking of calling it "soup" - no way, this definitely needed additional liquid, as others have mentioned in their reviews. Sooo, we boiled and re-simmered the soup last night, and made sandwiches, and I've just now sat down to a "real" bowl of the soup, and yes, it tastes fantastic - very unusual, spicy, and earthy. I hope to make it again, but will just use canned beans, and maybe dump everything, except the kale, in the crockpot to decrease the troublesome steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very complex delicious soup and I didn't even use the saffron-thought hubby would not be happy. After reading reviews I only cooked up about 4 oz. of beans in 2 c chicken broth and 2 cups water. Added those and cooking liquid to simmering soup when they were tender. I added celery and carrot for even more veggies, and used baby spinach instead of kale as it was on sale really cheap. I did add a pinch of red pepper flakes as I wasn't sure how spicy our sausage was. The consistancy was very brothy which is the way hubs likes his soup. Another new soup for our winter rotation -Thank you Pippymoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We liked this soup a lot! I cooked the beans first since I don't always have luck cooking beans and just browned the andouille, otherwise followed the recipe. The saffron adds a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was delicious. I used Spanish chorizo instead of the sausage, which is much better in my opinion :) Be careful of the fiber content on this one.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this last winter for a family Spanished themed dinner. It was WONDERFUL! I have made it a couple time since and it is clearly a favorite of mine. I have modified the cooking a bit. First, I boiled the beans according to the instructions on the pkg. I believe you put the beans in water, bring to boil, remove from heat and let it sit an hour. This reduces cooking time enormously. Second, I don't cook the sausage separately. The only Andouille sausage I have found was precooked so I sliced it up and added it to the soup. Third, since the soup has to simmer it may lose liquid, I add water or broth in order to compensate and then it ends up as soup, as it should. Fourth, I add the sausage to the beans when simmering, it gives it more flavor and the beans need longer than 10. I used ALL the ingrediants as the recipe calls. I used kale for the first time and it was wonderful. Saffron is expensive but this soup requires it to be done correctly. Mmmm I think I need to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good winter soup with lots of protein. Beans will NOT cook in the amount suggested. Add a few more hours of simmering. Works well in a crock pot but start early. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. Even my kids eat it. The sausage is very important to this soup -- make sure it is andouille sausage. It adds much of the flavor. Also, I used canned beans and started the recipe at step 3. It makes this soup far less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I cut back on the chicken stock as I wanted this to be more stew-like. The only other changes I made were to use green bell pepper, and I browned the sliced Andouille in olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I've never cooked with kale before but I'm definitely a fan - I loved that it had so much flavor and didn't turn to mush like, say, spinach. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This has good meaning behind it. Very good tasting ingredients here. However there is not NEARLY enough liquid to make this a "soup" It is more like a dense stew. I had to increase the chicken broth by 2 cups and then add another cup of water near the end to stop the sodium from creeping up. I love Kale in this and I added 1 link chorizo along with 2 andouille sausages - came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States