Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very complex delicious soup and I didn't even use the saffron-thought hubby would not be happy. After reading reviews I only cooked up about 4 oz. of beans in 2 c chicken broth and 2 cups water. Added those and cooking liquid to simmering soup when they were tender. I added celery and carrot for even more veggies, and used baby spinach instead of kale as it was on sale really cheap. I did add a pinch of red pepper flakes as I wasn't sure how spicy our sausage was. The consistancy was very brothy which is the way hubs likes his soup. Another new soup for our winter rotation -Thank you Pippymoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We liked this soup a lot! I cooked the beans first since I don't always have luck cooking beans and just browned the andouille, otherwise followed the recipe. The saffron adds a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was delicious. I used Spanish chorizo instead of the sausage, which is much better in my opinion :) Be careful of the fiber content on this one.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this last winter for a family Spanished themed dinner. It was WONDERFUL! I have made it a couple time since and it is clearly a favorite of mine. I have modified the cooking a bit. First, I boiled the beans according to the instructions on the pkg. I believe you put the beans in water, bring to boil, remove from heat and let it sit an hour. This reduces cooking time enormously. Second, I don't cook the sausage separately. The only Andouille sausage I have found was precooked so I sliced it up and added it to the soup. Third, since the soup has to simmer it may lose liquid, I add water or broth in order to compensate and then it ends up as soup, as it should. Fourth, I add the sausage to the beans when simmering, it gives it more flavor and the beans need longer than 10. I used ALL the ingrediants as the recipe calls. I used kale for the first time and it was wonderful. Saffron is expensive but this soup requires it to be done correctly. Mmmm I think I need to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good winter soup with lots of protein. Beans will NOT cook in the amount suggested. Add a few more hours of simmering. Works well in a crock pot but start early. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. Even my kids eat it. The sausage is very important to this soup -- make sure it is andouille sausage. It adds much of the flavor. Also, I used canned beans and started the recipe at step 3. It makes this soup far less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I cut back on the chicken stock as I wanted this to be more stew-like. The only other changes I made were to use green bell pepper, and I browned the sliced Andouille in olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I've never cooked with kale before but I'm definitely a fan - I loved that it had so much flavor and didn't turn to mush like, say, spinach. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This has good meaning behind it. Very good tasting ingredients here. However there is not NEARLY enough liquid to make this a "soup" It is more like a dense stew. I had to increase the chicken broth by 2 cups and then add another cup of water near the end to stop the sodium from creeping up. I love Kale in this and I added 1 link chorizo along with 2 andouille sausages - came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was good, but I didn't want to spend 2.5 hours making this so I used fully cooked chicken jalapeno sausage and canned cannelini beans, and changed the prep to make this just under an hour from start to finish. I sauteed the onions and the chopped sausage until onion was tender. Added the garlic, paprika, bell pepper, and kale and cooked a few minutes. Added 4 cups homemade chicken broth, saffron, and rinsed beans. Simmered for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Mine turned out more like a stew, but it was really good! I used navy beans instead of Northern beans, but they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States