Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The ingredients were great, but after reading the other reviews, I changed the directions a great deal: I cooked the beans by themselves the day before and chilled them down until needed (Boiling water poured on dry beans, 4 hour soak, 1 hour boil). I sliced and browned the sausage without boiling it first. This went into the simmering chicken stock with bay leaf and saffron. Using the remaining olive oil from the sausage, I sauteed the onions and bell pepper. I then added the garlic and paprika. This also went into the soup. At this point, I added the beans and kale. I brought the soup to a boil and then covered, reduced to a simmer, and let simmer for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So good! I even forgot the saffron which I was very intrigued by!! Darnit! Used spinach instead of kale cause it's what I had. Yummy stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The has quickly become a favorite in my house! Goes together quickly, and I love sneaking the extra kale into the family diet without arguing. I use two cans of black beans, and have done both andouille sausage and regular kielbasa. Served with salad and some sourdough, it's a sure hit on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Fast and easy . Delicious. I substituted tumeric for the saffron, otherwise did not change it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Used hot Italian turkey sausage out of the casing, and also used fat free/low sodium chicken broth. Added a diced zucchini as well...great way to use up 1/2 bag of chopped and washed kale that I had to use. Also added some dried basil and oregano. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very nice and unique soup. I was able to make it in a crockpot putting the kale and safforn in the last hour with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Spicy and packs a little heat! Made three "slight" changes. Used canned Great Northern beans, 1/2 tsp paprika and canned spinach instead of kale. I cook according to what I have on hand and what I got on sale at the grocery store. Looked up recipe for Andouille sausage, which I got at the grocers for 1.99 lb, and this recipe fit what was essentially in my cupboard and did not disappoint! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Kale wasn't available so I substituted baby spinich I am on a low fat low salt diet so I used Italian turkey sausage and salt free chicken stock. I followed everything else to recipe. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was my first time cooking with kale. I couldn't pass it up at our local farmers market it looked so lovely. I had andouille in the freezer and had no idea what to do with it, or the kale for that matter, until I came across this recipe. So happy that I did. I didn't have any saffron so I left that out and I used canned beans because I didn't have any dry on hand nor did I have the time to soak them properly. I did add a bit more seasoning, mostly poultry seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, and powdered rosemary. I will make this again next time I buy kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great Recipe. I used spinach instead of kale and a sweet Italian sausage instead of andouille sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States