Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The has quickly become a favorite in my house! Goes together quickly, and I love sneaking the extra kale into the family diet without arguing. I use two cans of black beans, and have done both andouille sausage and regular kielbasa. Served with salad and some sourdough, it's a sure hit on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Fast and easy . Delicious. I substituted tumeric for the saffron, otherwise did not change it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Used hot Italian turkey sausage out of the casing, and also used fat free/low sodium chicken broth. Added a diced zucchini as well...great way to use up 1/2 bag of chopped and washed kale that I had to use. Also added some dried basil and oregano. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very nice and unique soup. I was able to make it in a crockpot putting the kale and safforn in the last hour with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Spicy and packs a little heat! Made three "slight" changes. Used canned Great Northern beans, 1/2 tsp paprika and canned spinach instead of kale. I cook according to what I have on hand and what I got on sale at the grocery store. Looked up recipe for Andouille sausage, which I got at the grocers for 1.99 lb, and this recipe fit what was essentially in my cupboard and did not disappoint! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Kale wasn't available so I substituted baby spinich I am on a low fat low salt diet so I used Italian turkey sausage and salt free chicken stock. I followed everything else to recipe. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was my first time cooking with kale. I couldn't pass it up at our local farmers market it looked so lovely. I had andouille in the freezer and had no idea what to do with it, or the kale for that matter, until I came across this recipe. So happy that I did. I didn't have any saffron so I left that out and I used canned beans because I didn't have any dry on hand nor did I have the time to soak them properly. I did add a bit more seasoning, mostly poultry seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, and powdered rosemary. I will make this again next time I buy kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great Recipe. I used spinach instead of kale and a sweet Italian sausage instead of andouille sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made this today and it's great. Another great recipe for those cold winter months. I cut down the cooking time by sauteeing the onion and bellpepper in the pot first, then adding the garlic. Then added 3 cans of beans (undrained), 1.5 cans water, 3 chicken bouillon cubes, seasonings, and the sausage. Brought to a boil, then simmer for about 20 mins. Added the kale for 10 more minutes. Very easy. I don't see the point of steps 1 and 2. They seem very time-consuming for little result. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Spanish Style White Bean & Sausage Soup Haiku: "Fail soup, I am sad. Directions flawed, but good taste. (But on the next day.)" I was mortified to serve this to company, only to find that the beans were still hard as pebbles. I followed the recipe, only simmering my beans for more like 3 hrs., and simmered the entire soup for an additional 2 hrs. I couldn't quite get the 1st step of, what? Boiling the andouille, only to brown it later? Also, it doesn't clarify as to when to return the saffron/broth to the pot, so I just did that while it was simmering. I was overjoyed at the thought of this recipe, as I leap for anything that calls for either saffron (treasured spice that I so rarely use) or andouille (so tasty!), and loved the idea of using kale in a soup. And speaking of calling it "soup" - no way, this definitely needed additional liquid, as others have mentioned in their reviews. Sooo, we boiled and re-simmered the soup last night, and made sandwiches, and I've just now sat down to a "real" bowl of the soup, and yes, it tastes fantastic - very unusual, spicy, and earthy. I hope to make it again, but will just use canned beans, and maybe dump everything, except the kale, in the crockpot to decrease the troublesome steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States