Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is SO good! I don't typically like Spanish rice -- it's often too dry. This turned out moist and PERFECT. I served it with Southwestern Pork Chops. Even my 2 year old ate it -- and wanted more! I halved the recipe, but I think 3/4 would have been perfect for our family of 4. eta: I tried this with couscous tonight instead of quinoa. The only difference was adding the couscous last, and reducing the water to 1 1/2 c. It only needed to cook covered for about 5 minutes. It was just as tasty, but took a fraction of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good, I used vegetable broth instead of water, everyone loved it even my picky MIL! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I am the author of this recipe. My kids love this dish, and I created it with their young palates in mind... if you're cooking for adults, definitely kick up the spice!! I most recently made this dish as a stuffing for stuffed peppers. I had some salsa I needed to use, so added it while the quinoa was simmering. To bake the peppers, (I only stuffed 3) I stood them in a loaf pan, added condensed tomato soup to the bottom of the pan, and covered with foil, baked at 375 for about a half hour, uncovered and sprinkled with cheese, returned to the oven for a minute, and served with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was fantastic. It is a clever take on traditional Spanish rice. I used canned tomatoes instead of tomato sauce to give it a little more of appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was great. My kids loved it, and my husband, MR. Diehard meat & potatoes chowed it down. He said it kept him full which most vegetarian dishes do not. My kids did as suggested and used it to fill tortillas. This will be in regular rotation in our family! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My favorite quinoa recipe so far. I increased the spice a bit, and added some salt at the end, and it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was very good. I used a pobolano pepper instead of a green bell pepper. I also ended up using more cumin and garlic and salt. It was VERY good. I will be making this again! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! I double or triple the spices because it seemed bland the first time I made it. I also love to add a can of black beans (rinsed) and a can of no salt added corn for a heartier version. I add the beans and corn about 3-5 minutes before the quinoa is done. Great with some fajita veggies and salsa all wrapped up in a whole wheat tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used the canned tomatoes also, and we loved this. I'll probaby increase the spices next time, but we'll definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was really delicious. Doesn't need much salt. I added carrots to make it more of a side dish, then used it in a burrito later in the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States