Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I am the author of this recipe. My kids love this dish, and I created it with their young palates in mind... if you're cooking for adults, definitely kick up the spice!! I most recently made this dish as a stuffing for stuffed peppers. I had some salsa I needed to use, so added it while the quinoa was simmering. To bake the peppers, (I only stuffed 3) I stood them in a loaf pan, added condensed tomato soup to the bottom of the pan, and covered with foil, baked at 375 for about a half hour, uncovered and sprinkled with cheese, returned to the oven for a minute, and served with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! I double or triple the spices because it seemed bland the first time I made it. I also love to add a can of black beans (rinsed) and a can of no salt added corn for a heartier version. I add the beans and corn about 3-5 minutes before the quinoa is done. Great with some fajita veggies and salsa all wrapped up in a whole wheat tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was fantastic. It is a clever take on traditional Spanish rice. I used canned tomatoes instead of tomato sauce to give it a little more of appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great recipe. They're delicious stuffed in green peppers. I boil the peppers for 5 or so minutes first to soften them, then add the quinoa mixture and put back in the oven to melt with pepper jack cheese. In the mixture I used 1/2 of a red bell pepper and a can of tomatoes in lieu of the sauce, but make sure you add less water (or we used veggie broth) to account for the water thats cooked off from the tomatoes. A few things: I agree with others on increasing the spices a bit. And for me this recipe always takes longer than the stated prep/cook time. Takes a little over an hour or more from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My sister and I really enjoy this recipe. The only thing I do differently is add less liquid as the first time around it was a little too mushy and we add more spices. This recipe is a keeper and will be making many times this new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My favorite quinoa recipe so far. I increased the spice a bit, and added some salt at the end, and it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This has proved to be an extremely versitile dish. I initially prepared this dish as a side dish for tacos. We thought it a bit bland as a stand-alone and I was a little disappointed. I had plenty leftover, showever, so I've used it as a substitute for rice in several other Mexican dishes from walking tacos to chile rellenos to stuffed peppers. It has gone over VERY well! While I wouldn't make this again as a stand-alone side dish, I will definitely make it again for a rice substitute in just about any other dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is SO good! I don't typically like Spanish rice -- it's often too dry. This turned out moist and PERFECT. I served it with Southwestern Pork Chops. Even my 2 year old ate it -- and wanted more! I halved the recipe, but I think 3/4 would have been perfect for our family of 4. eta: I tried this with couscous tonight instead of quinoa. The only difference was adding the couscous last, and reducing the water to 1 1/2 c. It only needed to cook covered for about 5 minutes. It was just as tasty, but took a fraction of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good, I used vegetable broth instead of water, everyone loved it even my picky MIL! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was very good. I used a pobolano pepper instead of a green bell pepper. I also ended up using more cumin and garlic and salt. It was VERY good. I will be making this again! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States