Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
First: this is the best Quinoa I have ever had - not your typical "hippie tabbouleh" style. Second: I added a couple threads safron, salsa as recommended below, and substituted one can 14.5oz diced tomatoes (half liquid drained) for tomato sauce. Third: omitted green pepper just cause I didn't have it. Outcome: Awesomeo! Conclusion: Safron = the secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Loved it as is (but used veggie broth instead of water), but the second time I added more onion and some green chilis...this was awesome! Tonight i am adding black beans and corn to that...can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
You MUST try this recipe!! This was my first time making quinoa and it is fantastic! Fast and easy too. How good, you ask? I made it for dinner, we had leftovers for lunch twice that week, and I already made it again over the weekend! Doubling the spices is a must. And I followed others' suggestions of adding black beans and corn (also a bit crushed red pepper for some heat) and used whole wheat tortillas for burritos (makes 10-12 burritos). My husband, a huge meat eater, really likes them and doesn't miss the meat. They travel well (to work for lunch) and freeze well too. Perfect make ahead meal; make it once for dinner and have it for several times in the future. Thanks for the great recipe; definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made as directed. Found this to be very bland. Very few people ate it at my Mexican themed dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My sister and I really enjoy this recipe. The only thing I do differently is add less liquid as the first time around it was a little too mushy and we add more spices. This recipe is a keeper and will be making many times this new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Yummy! Add a bit more cumin and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Delicious quinoa recipe! Easy to make, this is definitely a keeper in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
First time ever making Quinoa and we liked it! The toddlers were not a fan but my husband, myself and the baby loved it! We don'tlike chunks so I put the onion and green pepper in the food prosessor. Next time I will add less water because it turned out slightly mushy, maybe I cooked it a little too long!!! Made it with the tofu tacos I from this site. It was an awesome combo!!!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was very tasty. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used tomato paste. I had run out of chili powder too, so I substituted it with paprika and 1/4 tsp cayenne. For more flavour, I doubled the spices and seasoned with salt and pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
very tasty, I used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce because that is all I had in the kitchen, and it turned out almost like a hearty chili. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States