Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Love this recipe!! I added some rotisserie chicken and it was outstanding as a meal. Thanks for sharing - It will be one of my go to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am always looking for new quinoa recipes and this was was fabulous! (A friend and I am eating some right now). The only negative thing I can say is that it was a lil bit bland, so I added salt & pepper and it was perfect! Another review suggested double the spice recipe & using veg broth so I will try these ideas next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was just "ok" for us. We are big fans of spanish style rice and other foods, and this had a similar taste. Our issue was with it being pretty bland, even after doubling the spices. I felt the depth of flavors wasn't all the way there. I will possibly make this again, with a bunch of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was very tasty! I didn't have green pepper so I just omitted it, added extra onion instead and it was still delish! I also just used taco seasoning instead of the separate seasonings, and added a bit more garlic salt and some cajun seasoning. A great alternative to rice, it was fantastic in a tortilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TorensMom2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum! I've been an AllRecipes member for years and this is the first time I've been inclined to write a review! What a delicious and healthy substitute for spanish rice. I disagree with other reviews who have said this dish cannot stand on its own as a side - we had it with tacos and thought it was fabulous! My boyfriend couldn't say enough good things - he can't wait for his brothers to try it (one of whom is a chef that owns a successful local restaurant)! I did change a few minor things based on what I had and other reviews. 1) I thought I had some fresh garlic at home, but was mistaken, so had to use garlic powder. I added quite a bit (I rarely measure powders) to the quinoa/pepper/onion mix and did not add it again with the fluids. 2) I used olive oil in place of vegetable oil. 3) I used about a 1/2 cup of Newman's Own salsa in place of the tomato sauce to add a bit more substance. 3) I hate using water when I could use something else with more flavor, so I used about 2 cups of chicken stock and 1/2 cup water, then added a "Tomato with Chicken" bouillon cube (found in Mexican section of your grocer). 5) Lastly, I couldn't find any cumin, so just left it out! I know that seems like a lot of changes, but the base recipe is great!! Definitely a new favorite dish... I even used some in place of meat in one of my tacos! Can't wait for the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I also like less salt, so I thought the seasonings were perfect. I followed the recipe, and loved it. I ate this as a stand alone dish, because quinoa is a complete protein, so this is a great dish for vegetarians. This is going into my monthly rotation, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Loved it! Instead of the tomatoes I used one can of Rotele's Mexican Fiesta (drained), cut the chili powder in half, added 1/2 tsp of salt, doubled the cumin, used 1/2 a yellow & orange bell pepper, one can of black beans & I think I forgot the garlic powder. My husband requested, REQUESTED that from now on I serve this w/all our Mexican style meals. (In the past he has wondered allowed exactly why it was that anyone thought quinoa was fit for any animal other than birds.) I paired it w/Pan Fried Tilapia w/tomatillo and red pepper sauce from this site... Amazing meal. Also followed another reviewer's suggestion and added it to scrambled eggs and cheese and served as breakfast burritos (hubby didn't even mention missing bacon which he thinks should be served w/all meals... especially breakfast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I was looking to make quinoa for a healthy lunch option... I took one reviewers suggestion and added some black beans, corn, and diced up steak ... (did double the spices) I rolled it in a sundried tomato tortilla (the red tortillas), and sprinkled a bit of cheese ontop .. YUM. will make again, love this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was good. I tripled the spices. Will keep and maybe quadruple the spices. We like spicey food. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
If I could give this 10 stars it still wouldn't be enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Love Love Love this dish I doubled the spices as so many suggested and we loved it!!!! I am always looking for new ways to use quinoa and this was awesome!!!!! Loved this sooooo much we wrapped up a bunch to bring to several different neighbors and I have been getting requests for this ever since!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States