Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a good "base" recipe, but I did add quite a bit to increase the flavor. I only used half the tomato sauce, and replaced the other half with mild salsa. The seasonings I doubled, and maybe even tripled the garlic powder (I never measure my garlic powder). I added a can of drained, rinsed black beans and a can of diced green chiles, then piled it all into some lightly roasted red bell pepper cups, topped with cheese, baked for 15 minutes and served it as stuffed peppers. I've also added ground meat on several occasions, it works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plaguedoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
A good recipe, but definitely needed more spice (increase the amount of cumin for sure) for my tastes and I think salsa would work better than tomato sauce. A nice way to cook quinoa, though, and you can make it a full meal by adding black beans. Excellent for lunch the next day, and I like the idea of putting them in peppers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Very bland. Needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Super easy, super yummy, and my husband likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This is the BEST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Excellent, i had a different twist on this recipe, i used pablano and sweet red pepper, diced tomatoes and low sodium beef broth, added some cayenne for heat and extra garlic. When the quinoa was done, mixed in the black beans and rolled into wheat tortillas with low fat cheese and made wholesome healthy burritos. Thanks for the idea, it was my first time useing quinoa. Boom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cochranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
very good- add mushrooms, tomatoes instead of sauce and black beans. 1/2 teas of cumin and garlic&herb 1&1/2 of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Fantastic. Made it just as it said and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic! I make it as a side dish for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious! I only had tomato paste instead of sauce, but since others commented that there was too much liquid in the recipe, I kept the water amount the same and just added a heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. I also doubled the spices and added some chicken bouillon to the water. To clean out the fridge, I threw in some leftover jalapeno and diced tomato with the peppers and onions as they were cooking and added some leftover black beans at the end. It turned out great and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States