Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. My own spanish rice recipe is very close to this, so I used it with quinoa instead of rice. I don't use onions or peppers (like kids, I am also very picky) and also prefer mild to spicy, so this is exactly what I needed to go with my Taco Ring recipe last night. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe and I plan to make it again. Due to other reviews and personal preference, I did add more spice. The first night, I used it as a filling for a stuffed pepper. Yummy! I had a lot left over (cooking for one, here), so I decided to add some cooked frozen corn and rinsed black beans to create a burrito filling. I put about 1/4 cup of filling into 10" wheat tortillas. I just re-heated the first burrito last night (after being frozen for 1.5 weeks) on high for 45 seconds per side, served with Greek yogurt, and had a delicious dinner! This turned out to be a very economical recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenrain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
my daughter made this recipe as a side dish and it was delicious. Even better the next day she used it in a wrap with a little sour cream, salsa, fresh spinach leaves and sliced pickled jalepenos.....it was a fabulous lunch sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was so good! Only changes I made were to 1/2 the chili powder (family can't handle anything too spicy) and use veggie broth in place of water. I threw in about 1/2 cup of uncooked brown lentils and let it simmer 45 minutes. Hubby had 3 servings. The leftovers I had the next day were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Amazing!!! The best quinoa I have ever had!! I do not usually comment on recipes but this really is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
After reading others' reviews, I added mild salsa instead of tomato sauce. That made this plenty spicey, and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
It was ok, but surprisingly bland. I had to really up the spices to get anything out of this. I'll probably add more green pepper, and maybe some black beans or corn to add more texture. Otherwise, it was pretty mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Great side dish to go with Tacos and other mexican entrees! We love it will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Our family didn't really enjoy this recipe, even after upping the spices. It worked ok IN a burrito, but not as a separate side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a good "base" recipe, but I did add quite a bit to increase the flavor. I only used half the tomato sauce, and replaced the other half with mild salsa. The seasonings I doubled, and maybe even tripled the garlic powder (I never measure my garlic powder). I added a can of drained, rinsed black beans and a can of diced green chiles, then piled it all into some lightly roasted red bell pepper cups, topped with cheese, baked for 15 minutes and served it as stuffed peppers. I've also added ground meat on several occasions, it works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plaguedoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States