Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was fantastic. It is a clever take on traditional Spanish rice. I used canned tomatoes instead of tomato sauce to give it a little more of appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used the canned tomatoes also, and we loved this. I'll probaby increase the spices next time, but we'll definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is SO good! I don't typically like Spanish rice -- it's often too dry. This turned out moist and PERFECT. I served it with Southwestern Pork Chops. Even my 2 year old ate it -- and wanted more! I halved the recipe, but I think 3/4 would have been perfect for our family of 4. eta: I tried this with couscous tonight instead of quinoa. The only difference was adding the couscous last, and reducing the water to 1 1/2 c. It only needed to cook covered for about 5 minutes. It was just as tasty, but took a fraction of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I am the author of this recipe. My kids love this dish, and I created it with their young palates in mind... if you're cooking for adults, definitely kick up the spice!! I most recently made this dish as a stuffing for stuffed peppers. I had some salsa I needed to use, so added it while the quinoa was simmering. To bake the peppers, (I only stuffed 3) I stood them in a loaf pan, added condensed tomato soup to the bottom of the pan, and covered with foil, baked at 375 for about a half hour, uncovered and sprinkled with cheese, returned to the oven for a minute, and served with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My wife liked it more than me. She's more of a quinoa fan than I am. She said it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This has proved to be an extremely versitile dish. I initially prepared this dish as a side dish for tacos. We thought it a bit bland as a stand-alone and I was a little disappointed. I had plenty leftover, showever, so I've used it as a substitute for rice in several other Mexican dishes from walking tacos to chile rellenos to stuffed peppers. It has gone over VERY well! While I wouldn't make this again as a stand-alone side dish, I will definitely make it again for a rice substitute in just about any other dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
A Quinoa recipe that even my 2 and 4 year old love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good. Made with homemade refried black beans. Will make again. Quinoa is a healthy alternative to rice. 17% protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this and stuffed some peppers with it. It was pretty good but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My favorite quinoa recipe so far. I increased the spice a bit, and added some salt at the end, and it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States