Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was fantastic. It is a clever take on traditional Spanish rice. I used canned tomatoes instead of tomato sauce to give it a little more of appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used the canned tomatoes also, and we loved this. I'll probaby increase the spices next time, but we'll definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is SO good! I don't typically like Spanish rice -- it's often too dry. This turned out moist and PERFECT. I served it with Southwestern Pork Chops. Even my 2 year old ate it -- and wanted more! I halved the recipe, but I think 3/4 would have been perfect for our family of 4. eta: I tried this with couscous tonight instead of quinoa. The only difference was adding the couscous last, and reducing the water to 1 1/2 c. It only needed to cook covered for about 5 minutes. It was just as tasty, but took a fraction of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I am the author of this recipe. My kids love this dish, and I created it with their young palates in mind... if you're cooking for adults, definitely kick up the spice!! I most recently made this dish as a stuffing for stuffed peppers. I had some salsa I needed to use, so added it while the quinoa was simmering. To bake the peppers, (I only stuffed 3) I stood them in a loaf pan, added condensed tomato soup to the bottom of the pan, and covered with foil, baked at 375 for about a half hour, uncovered and sprinkled with cheese, returned to the oven for a minute, and served with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My wife liked it more than me. She's more of a quinoa fan than I am. She said it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This has proved to be an extremely versitile dish. I initially prepared this dish as a side dish for tacos. We thought it a bit bland as a stand-alone and I was a little disappointed. I had plenty leftover, showever, so I've used it as a substitute for rice in several other Mexican dishes from walking tacos to chile rellenos to stuffed peppers. It has gone over VERY well! While I wouldn't make this again as a stand-alone side dish, I will definitely make it again for a rice substitute in just about any other dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
A Quinoa recipe that even my 2 and 4 year old love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good. Made with homemade refried black beans. Will make again. Quinoa is a healthy alternative to rice. 17% protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this and stuffed some peppers with it. It was pretty good but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My favorite quinoa recipe so far. I increased the spice a bit, and added some salt at the end, and it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States