Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
very good- add mushrooms, tomatoes instead of sauce and black beans. 1/2 teas of cumin and garlic&herb 1&1/2 of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Fantastic. Made it just as it said and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic! I make it as a side dish for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious! I only had tomato paste instead of sauce, but since others commented that there was too much liquid in the recipe, I kept the water amount the same and just added a heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. I also doubled the spices and added some chicken bouillon to the water. To clean out the fridge, I threw in some leftover jalapeno and diced tomato with the peppers and onions as they were cooking and added some leftover black beans at the end. It turned out great and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Spanish rice is one of my favorites and this was a great substitute now that I can't eat rice. Quinoa is fairly new to me and I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. The changes I made was to add extra onion, garlic, and spice. Oh, I also added some cilantro and used a couple thai chiles in place of bell pepper. I was amazed at how good the flavor turned out to be. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super tasty! I'm always looking for different, yet easy dishes, and this was a hit with my hubby & toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The recipe was good, but I added black beans, a bit of salsa, and used it to stuff peppers. Those changes helped, it would have been slightly bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I thought this was fabulous. I had a little fresh tomato I needed to use up, so I diced and added it. My "boys" said it is a keeper...which is the fist quinoa dish they have said that about. While I like the recipe as is very much, I think it will also become a "base" for many other dishes to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I haven't tried this yet but it sounds great. I only gave it stars because the system wouldn't let me post this question without them. I've tired quinoa before but just haven't liked it. This seems like it could be different from the other recipes I've tried. The thing is I want to try it with ground beef or chicken. Anybody have any suggestions for how I can incorporate it into the recipe? Should I cook the meat first and then add the quinoa or should I add the ground beef or chicken at the end?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was my first experience cooking quinoa. I made it to go with "Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos." I also made "Refried Beans without the Refry," but I did black beans and cooked them on the stove top (did not mash). I had all this wonderful spiced bean broth left over, so I used 1 1/2 cups of bean broth and 1 c. water in the quinoa. The flavor was excellent and I can see myself cooking a lot of quinoa in the future, as I really enjoyed the texture and pretty much everything about it. However, I found 2 1/2 c. liquid to be WAAAY too much. After 40+ minutes of simmering, there was still a LOT of liquid, and the quinoa was tender. I didn't want it to get mushy, so I drained it through a fine mesh sieve, then reheated it over med-high heat for a few minutes just to evaporate some of that leftover moisture. I don't know if this was caused by my use of bean broth, or if there really was just too much liquid. Either way, next time I'll try 2 c. liquid and see how that fares. Otherwise wonderful and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States