Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I REALLY liked this. However, I made a mistake that benefited me but not my wife. Instead of using chili powder, I used Cayenne Red Pepper powder. It made it much more spicy. It was great for me, but my wife did not love it. Great recipe though. I need to replace the Cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I cooked a half batch and it was good for 3 single servings. The first I ate as prepared and the other 2 servings I added in some extra lean ground beef and stuffed it in green peppers and baked in the oven. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was really delicious. Doesn't need much salt. I added carrots to make it more of a side dish, then used it in a burrito later in the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! I double or triple the spices because it seemed bland the first time I made it. I also love to add a can of black beans (rinsed) and a can of no salt added corn for a heartier version. I add the beans and corn about 3-5 minutes before the quinoa is done. Great with some fajita veggies and salsa all wrapped up in a whole wheat tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great recipe. They're delicious stuffed in green peppers. I boil the peppers for 5 or so minutes first to soften them, then add the quinoa mixture and put back in the oven to melt with pepper jack cheese. In the mixture I used 1/2 of a red bell pepper and a can of tomatoes in lieu of the sauce, but make sure you add less water (or we used veggie broth) to account for the water thats cooked off from the tomatoes. A few things: I agree with others on increasing the spices a bit. And for me this recipe always takes longer than the stated prep/cook time. Takes a little over an hour or more from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was very good. I think I went heavier on the spices, but aside from that I pretty much followed the recipe. I had this with some grilled chicken and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good, I used vegetable broth instead of water, everyone loved it even my picky MIL! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was great. My kids loved it, and my husband, MR. Diehard meat & potatoes chowed it down. He said it kept him full which most vegetarian dishes do not. My kids did as suggested and used it to fill tortillas. This will be in regular rotation in our family! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was very good. I used a pobolano pepper instead of a green bell pepper. I also ended up using more cumin and garlic and salt. It was VERY good. I will be making this again! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My favorite quinoa recipe so far. I increased the spice a bit, and added some salt at the end, and it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States